Staff Members

Dr Carl Bonner-Thompson

Dr Carl Bonner-Thompson

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
carl.bonner-thompson@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Nathan Clay

Nathan Clay

Research Affiliate
nathan.clay@zoo.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jacob Doherty

Dr Jacob Doherty

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
jacob.doherty@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Brendan Doody

Dr Brendan Doody

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
brendan.doody@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marion Ernwein

Dr Marion Ernwein

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
marion.ernwein@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Postdoctoral Research Assistant, Departmental Tutor and College Lecturer, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Beth Greenhough

Dr Beth Greenhough

Associate Professor in Human Geography
beth.greenhough@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614924

Dr Debbie Hopkins

Dr Debbie Hopkins

Associate Professor in Human Geography
debbie.hopkins@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275869

Dr Thomas Jellis

Dr Thomas Jellis

British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow
thomas.jellis@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285187

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Senior Researcher, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jamie Lorimer

Dr Jamie Lorimer

Associate Professor in Human Geography
jamie.lorimer@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275841

Professor Derek McCormack

Professor Derek McCormack

Professor of Cultural Geography
derek.mccormack@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275988

Dr Reuben Message

Dr Reuben Message

Researcher
reuben.message@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jennie Middleton

Dr Jennie Middleton

Senior Research Fellow in Mobilities and Human Geography, TSU
jennie.middleton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275893

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Research Fellow in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

Dr Alexandra Palmer

Dr Alexandra Palmer

Postdoctoral Research Assistant in the Social Science of Animal Research
alexandra.palmer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Helge Peters

Helge Peters

Researcher
helge.peters@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anna Plyushteva

Dr Anna Plyushteva

Departmental Research Lecturer in Transport Studies
anna.plyushteva@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Gillian Rose

Professor Gillian Rose

Head of School and Professor of Human Geography
gillian.rose@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285071 (PA: Jan Burke)

 Tom Russell

Tom Russell

Software Technician, ECI
tom.russell@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Tim Schwanen

Professor Tim Schwanen

Director of the Transport Studies Unit | Professor of Transport Studies and Geography
tsudirector@tsu.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285503

 Alexandra Sexton

Alexandra Sexton

Research Affiliate
alexandra.sexton@zoo.ox.ac.uk

Professor Sarah Whatmore

Professor Sarah Whatmore

Professor of Environment and Public Policy
sarah.whatmore@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285198

Cluster Co-ordinating Team
  • Professor Derek McCormack
     Cluster Co-ordinator
  • Dr Marion Ernwein
     Cluster Co-ordinator
  • Position vacant
     Postdoctoral Representative
  • Nina Doering
     Postgraduate Representative
  • Helge Peters
     Postgraduate Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postgraduate Representative

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Michael 't Sas-Rolfes

Conserving Africa's rhinos and elephants: geography, economics and policy

Paola Castaneda

How is the bike made mobile? Learning from bicycle advocacy in Latin America

Eric (Tak Hin) Chan

The role of built environment and travel behaviour in influencing people's well-being - A case study of Shenzhen

Sergio Henrique Collaço de Carvalho

Protected Area Financing in Megadiverse Upper-Middle Income Countries

Cheli Cresswell

Using big data and citizen science to map geographic and temporal trends in human-elephant conflict in Asia

Jennifer Dodsworth

Locating the Rural Community in Nature and the Nation: Exploring spatial politics of national parks and national identities

Andrew Dwyer

Malware Ecologies: Disrupting the Geographies of Cyberspace and Cybersecurity

Joshua Evans

Endless Convivial Experiments: Domestication and the microbiogeography of hybrid fermentation practices

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Dong-Li Hong

Atmosphere as a means of governing life: weather modification and ecological conservation in Sanjiangyuan, China

Britain Hopkins

‘Accepting the competitive challenge’: the intellectual and legislative origins of the student loan industry in the U.S.

Luis Iturra

Exploring urban inequality through unveiling uneven atmospheres in everyday mobility practices

Kris Lee

Understanding 'Reversed-Flow' international student mobility: a Bourdieusian perspective

Helen Morrissey

Taxi Wars: understanding 'data as governance' in South Africa's transport sector

Kelsi Nagy

India's sacred and mundane cattle: gods, hybrid-beasts and scavengers

Cyrus Nayeri

Governing the ungovernable: investigating the geopolitics of volcano hazard management on Iceland's South Coast

Rhian Scott

The contemporary warehouse studio: an extension of artist and urban landscape

Filipa Soares

Contesting the wild: nature, rewilding, conservationists and local communities in a changing Europe

Simona Sulikova

An exploration of impacts and attitudes towards active transport modes of walking and cycling and how to change them.

Nina Teng

Examining Trust in Shared Mobility: The Case of On-Demand Peer-to-Peer Ridesharing in Southeast Asia
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Geoffrey Dudley

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Dr Kärg Kama

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Denver Nixon

Short-term Research Associate, TSU

Dr Richard Powell

Honorary Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.