Staff Members

Professor Richard Bailey

Professor Richard Bailey

Professor of Environmental Systems
richard.bailey@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285530

Dr Szilvia Bajkan

Dr Szilvia Bajkan

Luminescence Laboratory Technician
szilvia.bajkan@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285086

Professor Emeritus John Boardman

Professor Emeritus John Boardman

Emeritus Professor, ECI
john.boardman@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285183

Dr Catherine Buckland

Dr Catherine Buckland

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
catherine.buckland@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Peter Bull

Dr Peter Bull

Emeritus Research Fellow
peter.bull@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

Dr Sallie Burrough

Dr Sallie Burrough

Trapnell Research Fellow in African Environments, ECI
sallie.burrough@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285085

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Researcher
ernesto.carrella@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Martin Coombes

Dr Martin Coombes

Researcher
martin.coombes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275884

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor of Hydrology
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Julie Durcan

Dr Julie Durcan

Researcher
julie.durcan@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285086

Dr Mona Edwards

Dr Mona Edwards

Laboratory Manager
mona.edwards@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275889

Dr Julie Eklund

Dr Julie Eklund

SEAHA Administrator
julie.eklund@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Kaja Fenn

Kaja Fenn

College Lecturer
kaja.fenn@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285086

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow and Departmental Tutor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Professor Andrew Goudie

Professor Andrew Goudie

Emeritus Professor in Geography
andrew.goudie@geog.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jens Madsen

Dr Jens Madsen

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
jens.madsen@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Nick Middleton

Dr Nick Middleton

Fellow of St Anne's College
nicholas.middleton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285186

 Ciaran Nash

Ciaran Nash

Early Stage Researcher
ciaran.nash@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jian Peng

Dr Jian Peng

Senior Research Associate in Hydrological Modelling
jian.peng@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285524

Dr Louise Slater

Dr Louise Slater

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
louise.slater@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

Dr Troy Sternberg

Dr Troy Sternberg

Senior Research Associate
troy.sternberg@geog.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285452

Dr Nicola Stevens

Dr Nicola Stevens

Trapnell Research Fellow in African Environments
nicola.stevens@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Abi Stone

Dr Abi Stone

MSc Teaching Associate
abi.stone@gmail.com

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Professor Heather Viles

Professor Heather Viles

Professor of Biogeomorphology and Heritage Conservation
heather.viles@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285198

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor of Aeolian Geomorphology
giles.wiggs@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275998

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Researcher
katrin.wilhelm@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Tim Baxter

Biodiversity and bioprotection of historic maritime structures: a possible win-win?

Dáire Browne

Breathing Stones - developing laser spectroscopic methods to study moisture uptake and release by historic limestone in polluted urban environments

Marcus Buechel

Comprehending changing climate and landscape influence on hydrological systems

David Crowhurst

Dynamics Controlling the Seasonality of Congo Basin Evaporation

Kaja Fenn

Provenance of late Quaternary loess along the middle and lower Danube River, Europe

Adam Formica

Identifying robust policies against deforestation using agent-based modeling

Blen Taye Gemeda

A holistic approach to diagnosing the deterioration of rock-hewn structures in Lalibela, Ethiopia

Richard Grove

Improving the evaluation of conservation treatments for deteriorating sandstone in built heritage

Georgia Hole

Towards a first high resolution spatiotemporal reconstruction of Holocene Arctic sea ice dynamics

Katherine Jang

'Moss on Rocks': Evaluating biodeterioration and bioprotection of bryophitic growth on stone masonry

Michelle Lanzoni

Rain Events and Recharge Processes in the San Luis Valley of Southern Colorado

Cuthbert Makondo

Options in Climate Change Adaptation, Resilience and Mitigation: Evidence from Zambia’s Rural-Rural Migration

Ian Maybury

From books to bricks: hyperspectral imaging for heritage

Martin Michette

Reigate Stone at the Tower of London: Mitigating Problem Stone decay in urban environments

Ciaran Nash

Sand mitigation along railway tracks - evaluation of sand hazards and field testing of mitigation measures

Sarah O'Keefe

Climate Scenarios for Water Security in Developing Regions

Jennifer Richards

Learning from nature: evaluating site-based conservation approaches to mitigating climatic risks to earthen heritage sites in NW China

Kathryn Royce

Preservation of geological collections

Aayush Srivastava

Quaternary of the Thar Desert in India: understanding the history of dune accumulation with the aid of Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) dating

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Ella Walsh

Late Quaternary hydrological change from valley fill complexes in Namibia

Yinghong Wang

Studying deterioration of sandstone cave-temple in western China and preventive conservation strategies for its preservation

Sam Woor

The evolution of Late Quaternary alluvial landscapes in northern Oman
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Gianbattista Bussi

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Lucie Fusade

Honorary Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.