Staff Members

Professor Richard Bailey

Professor Richard Bailey

Professor of Environmental Systems
richard.bailey@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285530

Professor Emeritus John Boardman

Professor Emeritus John Boardman

Emeritus Professor, ECI
john.boardman@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285183

Dr Catherine Buckland

Dr Catherine Buckland

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
catherine.buckland@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Peter Bull

Dr Peter Bull

Emeritus Research Fellow
peter.bull@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

Dr Sallie Burrough

Dr Sallie Burrough

Trapnell Research Fellow in African Environments, ECI
sallie.burrough@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285085

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Researcher
ernesto.carrella@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Martin Coombes

Dr Martin Coombes

Researcher
martin.coombes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275884

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor of Hydrology
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Julie Durcan

Dr Julie Durcan

Researcher
julie.durcan@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285086

Dr Mona Edwards

Dr Mona Edwards

Laboratory Manager
mona.edwards@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275889

Dr Julie Eklund

Dr Julie Eklund

SEAHA Administrator
julie.eklund@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellow, COP26 Fellow in Climate Risk, and Departmental Tutor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Professor Andrew Goudie

Professor Andrew Goudie

Emeritus Professor in Geography
andrew.goudie@geog.ox.ac.uk

 Richard Grove

Richard Grove

Researcher
richard.grove@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Shasha Han

Dr Shasha Han

Postdoctoral Researcher in Climate and Flood Hydrology
shasha.han@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Martin Michette

Martin Michette

Researcher
martin.michette@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Nick Middleton

Dr Nick Middleton

Fellow of St Anne's College
nicholas.middleton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285186

Dr Callum Munday

Dr Callum Munday

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate Science
callum.munday@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Louise Slater

Dr Louise Slater

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
louise.slater@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

Dr Linda Speight

Dr Linda Speight

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography
linda.speight@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Professor Heather Viles

Professor Heather Viles

Professor of Biogeomorphology and Heritage Conservation
heather.viles@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285198

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor of Aeolian Geomorphology
giles.wiggs@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275998

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Researcher
katrin.wilhelm@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Michel Wortmann

Dr Michel Wortmann

Research Associate in Computational Hydromorphology
michel.wortmann@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Tim Baxter

Biodiversity and bioprotection of historic maritime structures: a possible win-win?

Dáire Browne

Breathing Stones - developing laser spectroscopic methods to study moisture uptake and release by historic limestone in polluted urban environments

Marcus Buechel

Comprehending changing climate and landscape influence on hydrological systems

David Crowhurst

Dynamics Controlling the Seasonal Cycle of Congo Basin Evaporation

Blen Taye Gemeda

A holistic approach to diagnosing the deterioration of rock-hewn structures in Lalibela, Ethiopia

Richard Grove

Improving the evaluation of conservation treatments for deteriorating sandstone in built heritage

Yukun Liu

Numerical simulation of the internal structure of aeolian sand dunes using cellular automaton modelling

Ian Maybury

From books to bricks: hyperspectral imaging for heritage

Anca Mihalache

Time-varying electricity tariffs policy design: an integrated approach

Emily Neil

Assessing the impacts of rewilding at the Knepp Estate, UK, using ensemble ecosystem and agent-based models

Pirta Palola

Towards integrated land-sea management: mapping and modelling ecological connectivity in tropical coastal environments

Kathryn Royce

Preservation of geological collections

Kenta Sayama

From datapoints to heritage recognition -establishing geoheritage and geocultural values of Quaternary palaeoenvironmental sites in South-east Arabia

Jasper Verschuur

Vulnerability and resilience of global port infrastructure and dependent supply-chains to natural disasters

Ella Walsh

Late Quaternary hydrological change from valley fill complexes in Namibia

Sam Woor

The evolution of Late Quaternary alluvial landscapes in northern Oman
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Lucie Fusade

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Jennifer Richards

College Lecturer

Dr Troy Sternberg

Short-term Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.