Staff Members

Professor Richard Bailey

Professor Richard Bailey

Professor of Environmental Systems
richard.bailey@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285530

Dr Christian Brand

Dr Christian Brand

Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor, ECI, TSU
christian.brand@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285527

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Researcher
ernesto.carrella@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Martin Coombes

Dr Martin Coombes

Researcher
martin.coombes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275884

Dr Sarah Darby

Dr Sarah Darby

Associate Professor and Acting Deputy Leader, Energy Programme, ECI
sarah.darby@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285163

Professor Danny Dorling

Professor Danny Dorling

Halford Mackinder Professor of Geography
danny.dorling@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Nick Eyre

Professor Nick Eyre

Professor of Energy and Climate Policy, ECI
nick.eyre@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285129

Dr Tina Fawcett

Dr Tina Fawcett

Acting Leader, Energy Programme and Senior Researcher, ECI
tina.fawcett@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285173

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellow, COP26 Fellow in Climate Risk, and Departmental Tutor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Catherine Grasham

Dr Catherine Grasham

Postdoctoral Researcher in Water Security and Society (Social Scientist), SSEE
catherine.grasham@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Jim Hall

Professor Jim Hall

Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks
jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275847

Dr Sam Hampton

Dr Sam Hampton

Researcher, ECI
samuel.hampton@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Shasha Han

Dr Shasha Han

Postdoctoral Researcher in Climate and Flood Hydrology
shasha.han@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Saher Hasnain

Saher Hasnain

Postdoctoral Researcher and Research and Community of Practice Coordinator for the Foresight4Food Initiative, ECI
saher.hasnain@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Departmental Lecturer and Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Professor Rob Hope

Professor Rob Hope

Professor of Water Policy
robert.hope@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275881

 Kay Jenkinson

Kay Jenkinson

Knowledge Exchange Officer (Business and Policy) (CREDS), ECI
kay.jenkinson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285715

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Associate Professor, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Jamie Lorimer

Professor Jamie Lorimer

Professor of Environmental Geography
jamie.lorimer@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275841

Dr Constance McDermott

Dr Constance McDermott

Associate Professor and Jackson Senior Research Fellow in Land Use and Environmental Change, ECI
constance.mcdermott@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275870

Dr Janey Messina

Dr Janey Messina

Associate Professor in Quantitative Social Science Methods
jane.messina@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alex Money

Dr Alex Money

Director, Innovative Infrastructure Investment Programme, SSEE
alex.money@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614940

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Research Fellow in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

 Saskia Nowicki

Saskia Nowicki

Postdoctoral Researcher in Drinking-Water Safety
saskia.nowicki@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Toby Pilditch

Dr Toby Pilditch

Senior Research Associate in Human Environmental Systems
toby.pilditch@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Post Doctoral Researcher, ECI
alexander.shenkin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Louise Slater

Dr Louise Slater

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
louise.slater@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Linda Speight

Dr Linda Speight

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography
linda.speight@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Roger Sykes

Roger Sykes

Food Systems Programme Manager, ECI
roger.sykes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275859

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Dr Ersilia Verlinghieri

Dr Ersilia Verlinghieri

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
ersilia.verlinghieri@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Johannes Wagner

Johannes Wagner

Early Stage Researcher
johannes.wagner@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Tristram Walsh

Tristram Walsh

Oxford Climate Research Network Coordinator
tristram.walsh@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor of Aeolian Geomorphology
giles.wiggs@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275998

Dr Michel Wortmann

Dr Michel Wortmann

Research Associate in Computational Hydromorphology
michel.wortmann@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Monika Zurek

Dr Monika Zurek

Senior Researcher, ECI
monika.zurek@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285531

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Changsoon Choi

Climate-smart green infrastructure

Jennifer Dodsworth

Locating Communities in Digital Natures: Exploring the Politics of National Parks, Identity and Visual Social Media in the Lake District.

Sophie Erfurth

Governing Common Pool Resources in Fragile Political Systems: Modelling Behaviour, Institutions and Social-Ecological Dynamics

Adam Ferris

Studying decision architecture to find key behavioural intervention measures for increased traction in green consumption

Sarah Gall

Exploring land-use trade-offs in a rapidly changing economic and policy environment

Robyn Haggis

Nature-based solutions to sustainable infrastructure development for the achievement of the global agendas of the SDGs and Paris Agreement

Ohis Ilalokhoin

Resilience Assessment of Complex Infrastructure Networks - a system-of-systems approach to rail networks at national scale

Nicola Kühn

Vegetation response to climate change in South Africa: a functional traits-based approach

Faryal Leghari

Could displacement have brought about a pronounced role for women refugees from patriarchal pastoral communities in a geopolitically strategic region? A study of women refugees in South Waziristan in Northwestern Pakistan post-conflict

Anaïs Lemyre

Human-environmental analysis of wellbeing and mental health during the COVID-19 pandemic

Sabrina Li

Human-Environment Interactions on Infectious Disease Risk in Brazil

Anca Mihalache

Time-varying electricity tariffs policy design: an integrated approach

Emily Neil

Assessing the impacts of rewilding at the Knepp Estate, UK, using ensemble ecosystem and agent-based models

Saskia Nowicki

Health Risk in Complex Adaptive Rural Water Systems

Amelia Paszkowski

The Ganges-Brahmaputra river delta: a study into the adaptability of the delta system to flood risk in a changing climate

Elena Pierard

Anticipating sustainability transitions: how energy majors engage with cleaner technologies

Xiyu Ren

The impact of the energy transition on the economy: studies on the pattern and the relationship between policy contexts, firm decisions and innovation choices

Vance Z H Tan

Strategic assessment of long-term plans for adaptation to flood risk at a national scale

Johannes Wagner

Research project on Rural Water Finance in Africa, with fieldwork in rural Mali and in cooperation with UDUMA.

Charles Wight

Scarcity and Scale: Designing Water Markets for People and the Environment

Christian Wilson

Paris Aligned Portfolios and the Real Economy
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Honorary Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Marion Ernwein

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Dustin Garrick

Honorary Research Associate, SSEE

Dr Rachel James

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Johanna Koehler

Honorary Research Associate, SSEE

Dr Diana Mangalagiu

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Christine McCulloch

MSc Teaching Associate

Dr Kim Schumacher

Honorary Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Honorary Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Honorary Research Associate Status for more information.