Staff Members

Dr Ariell Ahearn

Dr Ariell Ahearn

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
ariell.ahearn@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275862

Dr Jake Barnes

Dr Jake Barnes

Researcher, ECI
jacob.barnes@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Aoife Brophy

Dr Aoife Brophy

Departmental Research Lecturer in Innovation and Enterprise, SSEE
aoife.haney@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
hannah.budnitz@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Katrina Charles

Dr Katrina Charles

Associate Professor and Senior Research Fellow
katrina.charles@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285184

Professor Danny Dorling

Professor Danny Dorling

Halford Mackinder Professor of Geography
danny.dorling@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Sam Fankhauser

Professor Sam Fankhauser

Professor of Climate Economics and Policy
sam.fankhauser@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Ferbrache

Dr Fiona Ferbrache

College Lecturer
fiona.ferbrache@keble.ox.ac.uk

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellow, COP26 Fellow in Climate Risk, and Departmental Tutor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Catherine Grasham

Dr Catherine Grasham

Postdoctoral Researcher in Water Security and Society (Social Scientist), SSEE
catherine.grasham@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Cameron Hepburn

Professor Cameron Hepburn

Director of the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment, SSEE
cameron.hepburn@smithschool.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285197

Dr Panagiotis (Takis) Iliopoulos

Dr Panagiotis (Takis) Iliopoulos

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
panagiotis.iliopoulos@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Stefanos Ioannou

Dr Stefanos Ioannou

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
stefanos.ioannou@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Liam Keenan

Dr Liam Keenan

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
liam.keenan@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Associate Professor, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Anna Lora-Wainwright

Professor Anna Lora-Wainwright

Professor of the Human Geography of China
anna.lora-wainwright@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275857

Dr Sarah McGill

Dr Sarah McGill

Research Associate, SSEE
sarah.mcgill@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jennie Middleton

Dr Jennie Middleton

Associate Professor in Human Geography
jennie.middleton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275893

Dr Julien Migozzi

Dr Julien Migozzi

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
julien.migozzi@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Research Fellow in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

Dr Timothy Monteath

Dr Timothy Monteath

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
timothy.monteath@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Amber Murrey

Dr Amber Murrey

Associate Professor in Human Geography
amber.murrey-ndewa@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275994

Dr Juan Pablo Orjuela

Dr Juan Pablo Orjuela

Senior Research Associate and Executive Education Programme Director, TSU
juan.orjuelamendoza@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anna Plyushteva

Dr Anna Plyushteva

Departmental Research Lecturer in Transport Studies
anna.plyushteva@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Tom Russell

Tom Russell

Software Technician, ECI
tom.russell@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Michael Urban

Dr Michael Urban

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
michael.urban@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alex Vasudevan

Dr Alex Vasudevan

Associate Professor in Human Geography
alexander.vasudevan@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 614917

 Johannes Wagner

Johannes Wagner

Early Stage Researcher
johannes.wagner@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Dariusz Wójcik

Professor Dariusz Wójcik

Professor of Economic Geography
dariusz.wojcik@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275985

Dr Monika Zurek

Dr Monika Zurek

Senior Researcher, ECI
monika.zurek@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285531

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Galina Alova

The low-carbon transition of the global electricity sector

Maryam Altaf

Ride-Sharing - User practice and social impact of the platform-based gig economy model in the context of transport and mobility in Pakistan

Andrew Armstrong

Financing Piped Water Services in Rural Africa and Asia

Mari Arold

Looping forest: Analogue and digital mediations of landscape and identities in post-Soviet Estonia

Pablo Astudillo-Estévez

Path dependence, reinforcement mechanisms and economic complexity in commodity-exporting countries

Moritz Baer

Climate Risks and the Financial System - The role of climate-stress testing for central banks and financial regulators

Joris Bücker

Long term (economic) policy tools based on complexity economics and the non-linear planetary impact of climate change

Alex Clark

Stranded assets? Public management of fossil fuel assets in the international system

Paulo de Souza

Can society and corporations share the same perspective on sustainability? Should they?

Gaurav Dubey

Political economy of low carbon mobility transitions - the case of electric mobility in India

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Yifan Han

A demand atlas for the planning, operations and upgrading of bicycle-sharing systems

Britain Hopkins

‘Accepting the competitive challenge’: the intellectual and legislative origins of the student loan industry in the U.S.

Raffaele Ippolito

Global Environmental (in)Activism: An Ethnography of Pollution, Illness and Community Resistance in Italy and Taiwan

Jimmy Jia

A new tool for energy and environmental valuation to improve decision making for capital deployment of climate-resilient infrastructure

Kristina Kaempfer

Financial Elites and the Spatial Variation of Inequality: Examining the Intersection of Gender, Race and Class in Frankfurt, London and New York City

Nameerah Khan

Bangladesh's arsenic crisis: Navigating the complexities of the science-policy interface of water quality and health

Krister Koskelo

Incorporating the costs of physical climate risks: A portfolio analysis approach

Lucas Kruitwagen

The role of disclosure in the management of environment-related risks in the investment value chain

Faryal Leghari

Could displacement have brought about a pronounced role for women refugees from patriarchal pastoral communities in a geopolitically strategic region? A study of women refugees in South Waziristan in Northwestern Pakistan post-conflict

Shona Loong

At the margins of a "development darling": civil society, territory, and development in Karen State, Myanmar

Yangsiyu Lu

How does environmental policy impact firms? Evidence from China

Alexander Manby

Between Instability and Stasis: Youth and Futurity in Nagaland, Northeast India

Marcel Metzner

Taking Planetary Boundaries Seriously: The Role of Accounting Practices in Corporate Climate Change Mitigation

Alex Midlen

The making of a global blue economy ‘governmentality’? Alternative futures in governance of marine resources.

Samuel Miller McDonald

Egalitarian Energy: Challenges to Neoliberal Discourse in Distributed Community Energy Programs

Jelani Munroe

Can austerity transform the public sector and services for its citizens? Lessons from Jamaica and the IMF since 2010

Saskia Nowicki

Health Risk in Complex Adaptive Rural Water Systems

Ignacio Perez

Examining the role of data in smart city management: following the transport data dispositif in Santiago de Chile

Rebecca Peters

Socio-legal approaches to regulate urban river water security in South Asia

Xiyu Ren

The impact of the energy transition on the economy: studies on the pattern and the relationship between policy contexts, firm decisions and innovation choices

Qiujie Shi

Beijing and London Compared: How Can Fast-Developing Cities Broaden Urban Knowledge?

Simphiwe Laura Stewart

A comparative political geography of populism: the rise of the EFF (in South Africa) and the Rassemblement National (in France) 1990 - 2019.

Simona Sulikova

An exploration of impacts and attitudes towards active transport modes of walking and cycling and how to change them.

Johannes Wagner

Research project on Rural Water Finance in Africa, with fieldwork in rural Mali and in cooperation with UDUMA.

Alice Watson

"And now on Radio 4...": imaginative geographies of migration on the airwaves

Christian Wilson

Paris Aligned Portfolios and the Real Economy
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Paola Ballon

Honorary Research Associate, SSEE

Dr Marion Ernwein

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Linus Mattauch

Honorary Research Associate, ECI, SSEE

Dr Kim Schumacher

Honorary Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.