Staff Members

Dr Ariell Ahearn

Dr Ariell Ahearn

Departmental Lecturer and Course Director, MSc/MPhil in Nature, Society and Environmental Governance
ariell.ahearn@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275862

Dr Jake Barnes

Dr Jake Barnes

Researcher, ECI
jacob.barnes@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Carl Bonner-Thompson

Dr Carl Bonner-Thompson

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
carl.bonner-thompson@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
hannah.budnitz@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Katrina Charles

Dr Katrina Charles

Associate Professor and Senior Research Fellow
katrina.charles@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285184

Dr Jacob Doherty

Dr Jacob Doherty

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
jacob.doherty@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Danny Dorling

Professor Danny Dorling

Halford Mackinder Professor of Geography
danny.dorling@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marion Ernwein

Dr Marion Ernwein

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
marion.ernwein@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Ferbrache

Dr Fiona Ferbrache

College Lecturer
fiona.ferbrache@keble.ox.ac.uk

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow and Departmental Tutor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Aoife Haney

Dr Aoife Haney

Departmental Research Lecturer in Innovation and Enterprise, SSEE
aoife.haney@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Cameron Hepburn

Professor Cameron Hepburn

Director of the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment, SSEE
cameron.hepburn@smithschool.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285197

Dr Stefanos Ioannou

Dr Stefanos Ioannou

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
stefanos.ioannou@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Senior Researcher, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Anna Lora-Wainwright

Professor Anna Lora-Wainwright

Professor of the Human Geography of China
anna.lora-wainwright@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275857

Dr Linus Mattauch

Dr Linus Mattauch

Departmental Research Lecturer in the Economics of Environmental Change, ECI
linus.mattauch@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sarah McGill

Dr Sarah McGill

Research Associate, SSEE
sarah.mcgill@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jennie Middleton

Dr Jennie Middleton

Senior Research Fellow in Mobilities and Human Geography, TSU
jennie.middleton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275893

Dr Amber Murrey

Dr Amber Murrey

Associate Professor in Human Geography
amber.murrey-ndewa@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275994

Dr Juan Pablo Orjuela

Dr Juan Pablo Orjuela

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
juan.orjuelamendoza@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anna Plyushteva

Dr Anna Plyushteva

Departmental Research Lecturer in Transport Studies
anna.plyushteva@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Tom Russell

Tom Russell

Software Technician, ECI
tom.russell@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Michael Urban

Dr Michael Urban

Research Associate in Finance and Geography
michael.urban@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alex Vasudevan

Dr Alex Vasudevan

Associate Professor in Human Geography
alexander.vasudevan@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 614917

Professor Dariusz Wójcik

Professor Dariusz Wójcik

Professor of Economic Geography
dariusz.wojcik@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275985

Dr Monika Zurek

Dr Monika Zurek

Senior Researcher, ECI
monika.zurek@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285531

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Galina Alova

The future of incumbent electricity companies in the low-carbon power generation market: an asset-level approach

Andrew Armstrong

Financing Piped Water Services in Rural Africa and Asia

Pablo Astudillo-Estévez

Path dependence, reinforcement mechanisms and economic complexity in commodity-exporting countries

Micol Chiesa

Do firms forget about the environment? Evidence from publicly listed corporations

Alex Clark

Stranded assets? Public management of fossil fuel assets in the international system

Theodor Cojoianu

Environmental investment strategies across the investment value chain: addressing the investment gap in clean technologies - from asset owners to entrepreneurs

Paulo de Souza

Can society and corporations share the same perspective on sustainability? Should they?

Gaurav Dubey

Neoliberalism and low carbon mobility transition in emerging economies: an untenable relationship? Evaluating the case of electric mobility in India

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Yifan Han

A demand atlas for the planning, operations and upgrading of bicycle-sharing systems

Tom Hashimoto

Dismantling 'irrationality' of geo-economic thinking in central and eastern Europe

Britain Hopkins

‘Accepting the competitive challenge’: the intellectual and legislative origins of the student loan industry in the U.S.

Kristina Kaempfer

International Financial Centres, Women’s Networks and the Politics of Space: Exploring Gendered Practices in London and Frankfurt

Krister Koskelo

Incorporating the costs of physical climate risks: A portfolio analysis approach

Lucas Kruitwagen

The role of disclosure in the management of environment-related risks in the investment value chain

Faryal Leghari

Could displacement have brought about a pronounced role for women refugees from patriarchal pastoral communities in a geopolitically strategic region? A study of women refugees in South Waziristan in Northwestern Pakistan post-conflict

Shona Loong

At the margins of a ‘development darling’: intersections between civil society, governance, and development in Karen State, Myanmar

Yangsiyu Lu

How does environmental policy impact firms? Evidence from China

Marcel Metzner

Taking Planetary Boundaries Seriously: The Role of Accounting Practices in Corporate Climate Change Mitigation

Alex Midlen

The making of a global blue economy ‘governmentality’? Alternative futures in governance of marine resources.

Samuel Miller McDonald

Egalitarian Energy: Challenges to Neoliberal Discourse in Distributed Community Energy Programs

Saskia Nowicki

The risk assessment imperative for ‘safe’ drinking water: traversing the technology-policy-management nexus to secure clean water supply

Ashim Paun

Efficacy in national policy frameworks for a post-oil era

Ignacio Perez

Examining the role of data in smart city management: following the transport data dispositif in Santiago de Chile

Rebecca Peters

Socio-legal approaches to regulate urban river water security in South Asia

Anton Pichler

The impact of economic networks on technological change

Ian Robertson

A Framework for Responsible Investment, with particular focus on proxy voting

Xuanyi Sheng

The governance and management of public-private partnerships bringing together stakeholders in the realization of complex engineering projects - One Belt One Road Initiative

Ranu Sinha

Pathways to Water Security: Evaluating the impacts of irrigation investments in Madhya Pradesh, India

Simona Sulikova

An exploration of impacts and attitudes towards active transport modes of walking and cycling and how to change them.

Alice Watson

"And now on Radio 4...": imaginative geographies of migration on the airwaves
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Paola Ballon

Honorary Research Associate, SSEE

Dr Kim Schumacher

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Johanna Waters

Honorary Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.