Staff Members

Professor Myles Allen

Professor Myles Allen

Professor of Geosystem Science
myles.allen@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275895

Dr Erika Berenguer

Dr Erika Berenguer

Researcher, ECI
erika.berenguer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Pam Berry

Dr Pam Berry

Senior Research Fellow and Geography Fellow (Mansfield College), ECI
pam.berry@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275882

Dr Brenda Boardman

Dr Brenda Boardman

Emeritus Research Fellow, ECI
brenda.boardman@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275876

Dr Christian Brand

Dr Christian Brand

Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor, ECI, TSU
christian.brand@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285527

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor of Hydrology
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Sarah Darby

Dr Sarah Darby

Associate Professor and Acting Leader, Energy Programme, ECI
sarah.darby@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285163

 Marina Diakonova

Marina Diakonova

Data Scientist In Energy Research, ECI
marina.diakonova@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614928

 Clare Downing

Clare Downing

Centre Manager (CREDS), ECI
clare.downing@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285166

Dr Ellen Dyer

Dr Ellen Dyer

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate Science
ellen.dyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Researcher
sebastian.engelstaedter@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275867

Professor Nick Eyre

Professor Nick Eyre

Jackson Senior Research Fellow and Professor of Energy and Climate Policy, ECI
nick.eyre@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 276575

Dr Tina Fawcett

Dr Tina Fawcett

Senior Researcher and Acting Deputy Leader, ECI Energy Programme, ECI
tina.fawcett@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285173

 Stephanie Ferguson

Stephanie Ferguson

Designer and Editor (UKCIP), ECI
stephanie.ferguson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285711

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Postdoctoral Research Assistant, Departmental Tutor and College Lecturer, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Helen Gavin

Dr Helen Gavin

Project Manager: MARIUS project, ECI
helen.gavin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614941

Professor Jim Hall

Professor Jim Hall

Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks
jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275847

Dr Luke Harrington

Dr Luke Harrington

Postdoctoral Research Assistant and College Lecturer, ECI
luke.harrington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Neil Hart

Dr Neil Hart

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography and Career Development Fellow
neil.hart@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Karsten Haustein

Dr Karsten Haustein

Researcher, ECI
karsten.haustein@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285193

Dr Victoria Hayman

Dr Victoria Hayman

Research Assistant, ECI
vicky.hayman@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Higginson

Dr Sarah Higginson

Researcher-RealValue, ECI
sarah.higginson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285039

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Departmental Lecturer and Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr John Ingram

Dr John Ingram

Associate Professor and Food Systems Programme Leader, ECI
john.ingram@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285175

Dr Rachel James

Dr Rachel James

College Lecturer
rachel.james@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275897

Dr Chris Jardine

Dr Chris Jardine

Researcher, ECI
christian.jardine@eci.ox.ac.uk

Dr Katie Jenkins

Dr Katie Jenkins

Researcher, ECI
katie.jenkins@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275861

 Kay Jenkinson

Kay Jenkinson

Knowledge Exchange Officer (Business and Policy) (CREDS), ECI
kay.jenkinson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285715

Dr David Johnstone

Dr David Johnstone

MSc Teaching Associate
davidwmj@gmail.com

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Senior Research Associate in Environment and Energy, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Russell Layberry

Dr Russell Layberry

Senior Researcher, ECI
russell.layberry@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285172

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

Dr Linus Mattauch

Dr Linus Mattauch

Departmental Research Lecturer in the Economics of Environmental Change, ECI
linus.mattauch@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Benito Müller

Professor Benito Müller

Convener International Climate Policy Research, ECI, ECI
benito.mueller@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

 Maliha Muzammil

Maliha Muzammil

Researcher, CCAFS, ECI
maliha.muzammil@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Friederike Otto

Dr Friederike Otto

Acting Director of ECI; Associate Professor, Climate Research Programme, ECI
friederike.otto@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285536

Dr Raghav Pant

Dr Raghav Pant

Senior Postdoctoral Researcher - Infrastructure Risk Analysis, ECI
raghav.pant@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275853

Dr Jian Peng

Dr Jian Peng

Senior Research Associate in Hydrological Modelling
jian.peng@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285524

Dr Sami Rifai

Dr Sami Rifai

Research Associate in Ecosystems Modelling and Climate Data, ECI
sami.rifai@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Post Doctoral Researcher, ECI
alexander.shenkin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Louise Slater

Dr Louise Slater

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
louise.slater@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Susann Stritzke

Dr Susann Stritzke

Research Associate in Renewable Energy, SSEE
susann.stritzke@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Dr Tom Thornton

Dr Tom Thornton

Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor, ECI
thomas.thornton@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr Marina Topouzi

Dr Marina Topouzi

Researcher in Lower Carbon Futures, ECI
marina.topouzi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614944

Dr Pete Walton

Dr Pete Walton

Knowledge Exchange Research Fellow, ECI
peter.walton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 272342

Professor Richard Washington

Professor Richard Washington

Professor of Climate Science
richard.washington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275842

Professor Paul Whitehead

Professor Paul Whitehead

Visiting Professor
paul.whitehead@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285048

 Conrad Zorn

Conrad Zorn

Infrastructure Network Analyst, ECI
conrad.zorn@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team
  • Professor Richard Washington
    Cluster Co-ordinator
  • Rachel James
     Postdoctoral Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postdoctoral Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postgraduate Representative
  • Position Vacant
     Postgraduate Representative

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Daniel Adshead

Delivering on the Sustainable Development Goals through long-term infrastructure planning

Laura Brinker

Energy decisions and governance: implications of retail market design for decentralized energy resources

Vanessa Burns

Oceanic assembleges: conceputalising El Nino Southern Oscillation as a more than human oceanography

Robert Carlsson

Understanding the economic role of national infrastructure systems

David Crowhurst

Land Surface Controls on Central African Rainfall

Lena Fuldauer

Climate-resilient system transitions to deliver on the Sustainable Development Goals

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Logan Hamilton

Transfer of Status: Political Decentralisation as a Driver of Change in Indonesian Village Level Forest Governance

Samuel Hampton

Understanding energy demand: energy using practices and energy services

Dina Hestad

Transformational capacity: investigating organisations ability to foster social transformation towards sustainability

Jiashun Huang

Infrastructure and the Economy

Ohis Ilalokhoin

Resilience Assessment of Complex Infrastructure Networks - a system-of-systems approach to rail networks at national scale

Takeshi Inagawa

Nutrient dynamics of Bornean tropical forests

Toby Jackson

Wind damage and the mechanical strength of trees. Why are trees in Borneo so tall?

James King

Rainfall Dynamics and Change in East Africa: Tackling the 'Climate Paradox'

Nicola Kühn

Vegetation response to climate change in South Africa: a functional traits-based approach

Michelle Lanzoni

Rain Events and Recharge Processes in the San Luis Valley of Southern Colorado

Jae-Young Lee

The role of water quality in regional water resources assessment

Scott MacDonald

An international comparison of voluntary green electricity tariffs

Cuthbert Makondo

Options in Climate Change Adaptation, Resilience and Mitigation: Evidence from Zambia’s Rural-Rural Migration

Nadezhda Mamontova

Spatial Knowledge, Language, and Adaptation to the Landscape among the Ewenki of Central and Northeastern Siberia

Diana Mastracci

How can information communication technology (ICT) assist Inupiaq hunters to respond/adapt to rapid climate change? Barrow, Alaska a case study

Christine Moore

Understanding social-ecological resilience in a cocoa producing region: a study of Ghana's Kakum Region

Kiron Neale

Beyond Implementation: Mainstreaming Residential Solar Energy in Trinidad

Sarah O'Keefe

Climate Scenarios for Water Security in Developing Regions

Nicolas Raab

Modelling tree carbon allocation, gas and energy exchange in the Amazon through functional structural models

Jose Ramirez Mendiola

Residential electricity demand: a modelling analysis of the dynamics of household activity and energy consumption patterns

Ruksana Rimi

Climate change and high-impact weather events: implications for water resource and agriculture in Bangladesh

June Rubis

(Re)imagining forest conservation landscapes and development pathways: indigenous strategies in Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo

Aven Satre Meloy

Characterising temporal aspects of residential electricity consumption using advanced multivariate statistics

Ranu Sinha

Pathways to Water Security: Evaluating the impacts of irrigation investments in Madhya Pradesh, India

Aayush Srivastava

Quaternary of the Thar Desert in India: understanding the history of dune accumulation with the aid of Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) dating

Vance Z H Tan

Strategic assessment of long-term plans for adaptation to flood risk at a national scale

Lisa Thalheimer

Climate induced human mobility: the impact of floods on migration and climate policies in developing countries

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Victoria Wyllie de Echeverria

Linking interactions between cultural and biological diversity on the Pacific coast of North America in the face of climate change
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Professor David Bradley

MSc Teaching Associate and Honorary Research Associate

Sebastian Cody

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Dave Favis-Mortlock

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Ariella Helfgott

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Kathryn Janda

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Diana Mangalagiu

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Philip Mann

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Richard Millar

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Sam Moore

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Mike Morecroft

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Mohammad Mortazavi-Naeini

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr John Rhys

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Norma Salinas Revilla

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Gordon Stokes

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Roger Street

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Joost Vervoort

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.