Staff Members

Professor Myles Allen

Professor Myles Allen

Professor of Geosystem Science
myles.allen@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275895

Dr Pam Berry

Dr Pam Berry

Senior Research Fellow and Geography Fellow (Mansfield College), ECI
pam.berry@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275882

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
hannah.budnitz@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor of Hydrology
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Ellen Dyer

Dr Ellen Dyer

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate Science
ellen.dyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Researcher
sebastian.engelstaedter@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275867

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellow, Departmental Tutor, and College Advisor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Helen Gavin

Dr Helen Gavin

Knowledge Exchange Researcher (Business and Policy) and Programme Manager, Oxford Martin Programme on Integrating Renewable Energy (Integrate), ECI
helen.gavin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614941

Professor Jim Hall

Professor Jim Hall

Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks
jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275847

Dr Shasha Han

Dr Shasha Han

Postdoctoral Researcher in Climate and Flood Hydrology
shasha.han@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Neil Hart

Dr Neil Hart

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography and Career Development Fellow
neil.hart@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Departmental Lecturer and Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr John Ingram

Dr John Ingram

Associate Professor and Food Systems Programme Leader, ECI
john.ingram@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285175

Dr Rachel James

Dr Rachel James

Honorary Research Associate
rachel.james@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275897

Dr David Johnstone

Dr David Johnstone

MSc Teaching Associate
davidwmj@gmail.com

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Associate Professor, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

 James A. King

James A. King

Research Assistant and College Lecturer
james.king@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

Dr Linus Mattauch

Dr Linus Mattauch

Departmental Research Lecturer in the Economics of Environmental Change, ECI
linus.mattauch@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Research Fellow in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

Professor Benito Müller

Professor Benito Müller

Convener International Climate Policy Research, ECI, ECI
benito.mueller@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

Dr Friederike Otto

Dr Friederike Otto

Associate Director of ECI
Associate Professor, Climate Research Programme, ECI
friederike.otto@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285536

Dr James Painter

Dr James Painter

Senior Teaching Associate
james.painter@politics.ox.ac.uk

Dr Louise Slater

Dr Louise Slater

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
louise.slater@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

 Zachary Spavins-Hicks

Zachary Spavins-Hicks

Research Assistant
zachary.spavins-hicks@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Susann Stritzke

Dr Susann Stritzke

Research Associate in Renewable Energy, SSEE
susann.stritzke@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Dr Pete Walton

Dr Pete Walton

Knowledge Exchange Research Fellow, ECI
peter.walton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 272342

Professor Richard Washington

Professor Richard Washington

Professor of Climate Science
richard.washington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275842

Professor Paul Whitehead

Professor Paul Whitehead

MSc Teaching Associate
paul.whitehead@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285048

 Rosalie Wright

Rosalie Wright

Research Assistant in the Coral Reef Resilience Project
rosalie.wright@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marcia Zilli

Dr Marcia Zilli

Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Climate Dynamics
marcia.zilli@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Monika Zurek

Dr Monika Zurek

Senior Researcher, ECI
monika.zurek@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285531

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Daniel Adshead

Infrastructure for sustainable development

Marcus Buechel

Comprehending changing climate and landscape influence on hydrological systems

Thomas Caton Harrison

Variability of the dust-emitting low-level jet in the central and western Sahara through boreal summer

Changsoon Choi

Climate-smart green infrastructure

Alex Clark

Stranded assets? Public management of fossil fuel assets in the international system

David Crowhurst

Dynamics Controlling the Seasonal Cycle of Congo Basin Evaporation

Gaurav Dubey

Neoliberalism and low carbon mobility transition in emerging economies: an untenable relationship? Evaluating the case of electric mobility in India

Joshua Ettinger

Extreme Weather Events as Teachable Moments: Examining the Role of Attribution Science in Building Support for Climate Action

Safa Fanaian

Rivers and cities: exploring their complex water-risk and its governance

Lena I. Fuldauer

Climate-resilient system transitions to deliver on the Sustainable Development Goals

Sarah Gall

Exploring land-use trade-offs in a rapidly changing economic and policy environment

Trisha Gopalakrishna

Trade-offs between carbon, biodiversity and water on restoration of Indian tropical forests

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Logan Hamilton

Transfer of Status: Political Decentralisation as a Driver of Change in Indonesian Village Level Forest Governance

Ohis Ilalokhoin

Resilience Assessment of Complex Infrastructure Networks - a system-of-systems approach to rail networks at national scale

Jimmy Jia

A new tool for energy and environmental valuation to improve decision making for capital deployment of climate-resilient infrastructure

James A. King

Rainfall Dynamics and Change in East Africa: Tackling the 'Climate Paradox'

Nicola Kühn

Vegetation response to climate change in South Africa: a functional traits-based approach

Jae-Young Lee

The role of water quality in regional water resources assessment

Diana Mastracci

How can information communication technology (ICT) assist Inupiaq hunters to respond/adapt to rapid climate change? Barrow, Alaska a case study

Xiyu Ren

The impact of the energy transition on the economy: studies on the pattern and the relationship between policy contexts, firm decisions and innovation choices

Ranu Sinha

Pathways to Water Security: Evaluating the impacts of irrigation investments in Madhya Pradesh, India

Aayush Srivastava

Quaternary of the Thar Desert in India: understanding the history of dune accumulation with the aid of Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) dating

Rupert Stuart-Smith

Attribution science in the courts: establishing the liability of greenhouse gas emitters for climate change damages

Simona Sulikova

An exploration of impacts and attitudes towards active transport modes of walking and cycling and how to change them.

Vance Z H Tan

Strategic assessment of long-term plans for adaptation to flood risk at a national scale

Lisa Thalheimer

Climate induced human mobility: the impact of floods on migration and climate policies in developing countries

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Jasper Verschuur

Vulnerability and resilience of global port infrastructure and dependent supply-chains to natural disasters

Ella Walsh

Late Quaternary hydrological change from valley fill complexes in Namibia

Christian Wilson

Paris Aligned Portfolios and the Real Economy

Sam Woor

The evolution of Late Quaternary alluvial landscapes in northern Oman

Victoria Wyllie de Echeverria

Linking interactions between cultural and biological diversity on the Pacific coast of North America in the face of climate change

Huanyuan Zhang

Calculate tropical NPP by upscaling empirical findings from plot-level forest inventory to a larger scale
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Professor David Bradley

MSc Teaching Associate and Honorary Research Associate

Dr Kathryn Janda

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Diana Mangalagiu

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Mike Morecroft

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Mohammad Mortazavi-Naeini

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr John Rhys

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Norma Salinas Revilla

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Gordon Stokes

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Roger Street

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.