Staff Members

Professor Myles Allen

Professor Myles Allen

Professor of Geosystem Science
myles.allen@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275895

Professor David Bradley

Professor David Bradley

MSc Teaching Associate
david.bradley@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
hannah.budnitz@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor of Hydrology
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Ellen Dyer

Dr Ellen Dyer

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate Science
ellen.dyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Researcher
sebastian.engelstaedter@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275867

Professor Sam Fankhauser

Professor Sam Fankhauser

Professor of Climate Economics and Policy
sam.fankhauser@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellow, COP26 Fellow in Climate Risk, and Departmental Tutor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Professor Jim Hall

Professor Jim Hall

Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks
jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275847

 Sophie Harbord

Sophie Harbord

Research Assistant (Met Reader)
sophie.harbord@env-res.ox.ac.uk

Dr Neil Hart

Dr Neil Hart

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography and Career Development Fellow
neil.hart@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Departmental Lecturer and Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr John Ingram

Dr John Ingram

Associate Professor and Food Systems Programme Leader, ECI
john.ingram@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285175

Dr David Johnstone

Dr David Johnstone

MSc Teaching Associate
davidwmj@gmail.com

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Associate Professor, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Dr Donghyun Lee

Dr Donghyun Lee

Research Associate: the role of the carbon cycle in the transition to Net Zero, ECI
donghyun.lee@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sihan Li

Dr Sihan Li

Senior Research Associate in Multi-hazard Risk Modelling
sihan.li@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275854

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

Professor Benito Müller

Professor Benito Müller

Visiting Professor, ECI
benito.mueller@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

Dr Callum Munday

Dr Callum Munday

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate Science
callum.munday@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr James Painter

Dr James Painter

Senior Teaching Associate
james.painter@politics.ox.ac.uk

Dr Louise Slater

Dr Louise Slater

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
louise.slater@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Linda Speight

Dr Linda Speight

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography
linda.speight@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

 Tristram Walsh

Tristram Walsh

Oxford Climate Research Network Coordinator
tristram.walsh@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Richard Washington

Professor Richard Washington

Professor of Climate Science
richard.washington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275842

Professor Paul Whitehead

Professor Paul Whitehead

MSc Teaching Associate
paul.whitehead@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285048

Dr Michel Wortmann

Dr Michel Wortmann

Research Associate in Computational Hydromorphology
michel.wortmann@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Rosalie Wright

Rosalie Wright

Research Assistant in the Coral Reef Resilience Project
rosalie.wright@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marcia Zilli

Dr Marcia Zilli

Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Climate Dynamics
marcia.zilli@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Monika Zurek

Dr Monika Zurek

Senior Researcher, ECI
monika.zurek@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285531

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Olivia Becher

Stress testing large-scale water system resilience: a multi-risk framework for guiding adaptation

Marcus Buechel

Comprehending changing climate and landscape influence on hydrological systems

Thomas Caton Harrison

Variability of the dust-emitting low-level jet in the central and western Sahara through boreal summer

Changsoon Choi

Climate-smart green infrastructure

Nicholas Chow

Fostering Effective Climate Change Governance to Enable Resilient Infrastructure Service Provision

Alex Clark

Stranded states: Public management of fossil fuel assets in the international system

Kerry Constabile

Urban 100% Renewable Energy Pathways: Assessing the drivers that shift grids from Brown to Green

David Crowhurst

Dynamics Controlling the Seasonal Cycle of Congo Basin Evaporation

Gaurav Dubey

Political economy of low carbon mobility transitions - the case of electric mobility in India

Joshua Ettinger

Extreme Weather Events as Teachable Moments: Examining the Role of Attribution Science in Building Support for Climate Action

Safa Fanaian

Rivers and cities: exploring their complex water-risk and its governance

Adam Ferris

Studying decision architecture to find key behavioural intervention measures for increased traction in green consumption

Lena I. Fuldauer

Climate-resilient system transitions to deliver on the Sustainable Development Goals

Sarah Gall

Exploring land-use trade-offs in a rapidly changing economic and policy environment

Trisha Gopalakrishna

Forest Restoration in India: Opportunities and Realities

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Robyn Haggis

Nature-based solutions to sustainable infrastructure development for the achievement of the global agendas of the SDGs and Paris Agreement

Rosie Huck

Modelling landscape response to environmental change in susceptible drylands

Jimmy Jia

A new tool for energy and environmental valuation to improve decision making for capital deployment of climate-resilient infrastructure

Abdul Wahid Khan

The Blessings of the Commons (Muzhayo) for the Local Community and More-than-Humans of Chitral, Pakistan and the Influence of Neoliberal and Nationalization Projects: An Apocalypse of a Culturalscape

James A. King

Rainfall Dynamics and Change in East Africa: Tackling the 'Climate Paradox'

Tonny Kukeera

Holistic Business Models: Connecting Electricity Access to Sustainable Development

Diana Mastracci

How can information communication technology (ICT) assist Inupiaq hunters to respond/adapt to rapid climate change? Barrow, Alaska a case study

Anca Mihalache

Time-varying electricity tariffs policy design: an integrated approach

Carter Powis

A multi-disciplinary analysis of the role of transient negative emissions in achieving the goals of the Paris Agreement

Xiyu Ren

The impact of the energy transition on the economy: studies on the pattern and the relationship between policy contexts, firm decisions and innovation choices

Rupert Stuart-Smith

Attribution science in the courts: establishing the liability of greenhouse gas emitters for climate change damages

Vance Z H Tan

Strategic assessment of long-term plans for adaptation to flood risk at a national scale

Jasper Verschuur

Vulnerability and resilience of global port infrastructure and dependent supply-chains to natural disasters

Ella Walsh

Late Quaternary hydrological change from valley fill complexes in Namibia

Christian Wilson

Paris Aligned Portfolios and the Real Economy

Sam Woor

The evolution of Late Quaternary alluvial landscapes in northern Oman

Huanyuan Zhang

Calculate tropical NPP by upscaling empirical findings from plot-level forest inventory to a larger scale
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Professor Sandra Díaz

Visiting Professor, ECI

Dr Shasha Han

Short-term Research Associate

Dr Rachel James

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Diana Mangalagiu

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Linus Mattauch

Honorary Research Associate, ECI, SSEE

Professor Friederike Otto

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr John Rhys

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Gordon Stokes

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Dr Susann Stritzke

Honorary Research Associate, SSEE

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.