Staff Members

Professor Myles Allen

Professor Myles Allen

Professor of Geosystem Science
myles.allen@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275895

Dr Pam Berry

Dr Pam Berry

Senior Research Fellow and Geography Fellow (Mansfield College), ECI
pam.berry@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275882

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Dr Hannah Budnitz

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
hannah.budnitz@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor Simon Dadson

Professor of Hydrology
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Ellen Dyer

Dr Ellen Dyer

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate Science
ellen.dyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Researcher
sebastian.engelstaedter@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275867

Dr Neven Fučkar

Dr Neven Fučkar

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow and Departmental Tutor, ECI
neven.fuckar@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Helen Gavin

Dr Helen Gavin

Knowledge Exchange Researcher (Business and Policy) and Programme Manager, Oxford Martin Programme on Integrating Renewable Energy (Integrate), ECI
helen.gavin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614941

Professor Jim Hall

Professor Jim Hall

Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks
jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275847

Dr Luke Harrington

Dr Luke Harrington

Postdoctoral Research Assistant, ECI
luke.harrington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Neil Hart

Dr Neil Hart

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography and Career Development Fellow
neil.hart@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275855

Dr Karsten Haustein

Dr Karsten Haustein

Researcher and Training and Data Support Officer (Scientific Computing), ECI
karsten.haustein@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285193

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Departmental Lecturer and Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr John Ingram

Dr John Ingram

Associate Professor and Food Systems Programme Leader, ECI
john.ingram@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285175

Dr Rachel James

Dr Rachel James

College Lecturer
rachel.james@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275897

Dr Katie Jenkins

Dr Katie Jenkins

Researcher, ECI
katie.jenkins@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275861

Dr David Johnstone

Dr David Johnstone

MSc Teaching Associate
davidwmj@gmail.com

Dr Radhika Khosla

Dr Radhika Khosla

Senior Researcher, SSEE
radhika.khosla@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

 James A. King

James A. King

Research Assistant and College Lecturer
james.king@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud

Postdoctoral Researcher in Ethnography
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

Dr Linus Mattauch

Dr Linus Mattauch

Departmental Research Lecturer in the Economics of Environmental Change, ECI
linus.mattauch@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Benito Müller

Professor Benito Müller

Convener International Climate Policy Research, ECI, ECI
benito.mueller@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

Dr Friederike Otto

Dr Friederike Otto

Acting Director of ECI; Associate Professor, Climate Research Programme, ECI
friederike.otto@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285536

Dr Jian Peng

Dr Jian Peng

Senior Research Associate in Hydrological Modelling
jian.peng@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285524

Dr Louise Slater

Dr Louise Slater

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
louise.slater@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Susann Stritzke

Dr Susann Stritzke

Research Associate in Renewable Energy, SSEE
susann.stritzke@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Dr Pete Walton

Dr Pete Walton

Knowledge Exchange Research Fellow, ECI
peter.walton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 272342

Professor Richard Washington

Professor Richard Washington

Professor of Climate Science
richard.washington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275842

Dr Thomas Webb

Dr Thomas Webb

Senior Research Associate and Software Developer in African Climate
thomas.webb@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Paul Whitehead

Professor Paul Whitehead

MSc Teaching Associate
paul.whitehead@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285048

 Rosalie Wright

Rosalie Wright

Research Assistant in the Coral Reef Resilience Project
rosalie.wright@chch.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marcia Zilli

Dr Marcia Zilli

Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Climate Dynamics
marcia.zilli@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Monika Zurek

Dr Monika Zurek

Senior Researcher, ECI
monika.zurek@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285531

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Mohammed Sarfaraz Gani Adnan

Beyond polders: Diagnosing complex flooding processes and human impacts in the coastal region of Bangladesh

Daniel Adshead

Delivering on the Sustainable Development Goals through long-term infrastructure planning

Laura Brinker

Energy decisions and governance: implications of retail market design for decentralized energy resources

Marcus Buechel

Comprehending changing climate and landscape influence on hydrological systems

Vanessa Burns

Oceanic assembleges: conceputalising El Nino Southern Oscillation as a more than human oceanography

Thomas Caton Harrison

Variability of the dust-emitting low-level jet in the central and western Sahara through boreal summer

Changsoon Choi

Climate-smart green infrastructure

Alex Clark

Stranded assets? Public management of fossil fuel assets in the international system

David Crowhurst

Dynamics Controlling the Seasonality of Congo Basin Evaporation

Tess Doeffinger

Evaluating Water Security: Diagnostics and Trends

Gaurav Dubey

Neoliberalism and low carbon mobility transition in emerging economies: an untenable relationship? Evaluating the case of electric mobility in India

Safa Fanaian

Rivers and cities: exploring their complex water-risk and its governance

Lena I. Fuldauer

Climate-resilient system transitions to deliver on the Sustainable Development Goals

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Logan Hamilton

Transfer of Status: Political Decentralisation as a Driver of Change in Indonesian Village Level Forest Governance

Dina Hestad

Organising Urban Sustainability Transformations: Exploring the role, abilities, and potential of Sustainability-Oriented Hybrid Organisations

Ohis Ilalokhoin

Resilience Assessment of Complex Infrastructure Networks - a system-of-systems approach to rail networks at national scale

James A. King

Rainfall Dynamics and Change in East Africa: Tackling the 'Climate Paradox'

Nicola Kühn

Vegetation response to climate change in South Africa: a functional traits-based approach

Michelle Lanzoni

Rain Events and Recharge Processes in the San Luis Valley of Southern Colorado

Jae-Young Lee

The role of water quality in regional water resources assessment

Cuthbert Makondo

Options in Climate Change Adaptation, Resilience and Mitigation: Evidence from Zambia’s Rural-Rural Migration

Nadezhda Mamontova

Spatial Knowledge, Language, and Adaptation to the Landscape among the Ewenki of Central and Northeastern Siberia

Diana Mastracci

How can information communication technology (ICT) assist Inupiaq hunters to respond/adapt to rapid climate change? Barrow, Alaska a case study

Sarah O'Keefe

Climate Scenarios for Water Security in Developing Regions

Nicolas Raab

Modelling tree carbon allocation, gas and energy exchange in the Amazon through functional structural models

Jose Ramirez Mendiola

Residential electricity demand: a modelling analysis of the dynamics of household activity and energy consumption patterns

June Rubis

(Re)imagining forest conservation landscapes and development pathways: indigenous strategies in Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo

Aven Satre Meloy

Characterising temporal aspects of residential electricity consumption using advanced multivariate statistics

Ranu Sinha

Pathways to Water Security: Evaluating the impacts of irrigation investments in Madhya Pradesh, India

Aayush Srivastava

Quaternary of the Thar Desert in India: understanding the history of dune accumulation with the aid of Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) dating

Simona Sulikova

An exploration of impacts and attitudes towards active transport modes of walking and cycling and how to change them.

Vance Z H Tan

Strategic assessment of long-term plans for adaptation to flood risk at a national scale

Lisa Thalheimer

Climate induced human mobility: the impact of floods on migration and climate policies in developing countries

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Ella Walsh

Late Quaternary hydrological change from valley fill complexes in Namibia

Sam Woor

The evolution of Late Quaternary alluvial landscapes in northern Oman

Victoria Wyllie de Echeverria

Linking interactions between cultural and biological diversity on the Pacific coast of North America in the face of climate change
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Professor David Bradley

MSc Teaching Associate and Honorary Research Associate

Dr Kathryn Janda

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Diana Mangalagiu

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Mike Morecroft

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Mohammad Mortazavi-Naeini

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr John Rhys

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Norma Salinas Revilla

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Gordon Stokes

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Roger Street

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.