Staff Members

Dr Jesus Aguirre Gutierrez

Dr Jesus Aguirre Gutierrez

NERC Research Fellow, ECI
jesus.aguirregutierrez@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Jane Applegarth

Jane Applegarth

Administrative Assistant to the Ecosystems Programme and Director of ECI / Co-ordinator for Oxford Centre for Tropical Forests, ECI
jane.applegarth@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285190

Dr Erika Berenguer

Dr Erika Berenguer

Researcher, ECI
erika.berenguer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Robert Dunford

Dr Robert Dunford

College Lecturer, ECI
robert.dunford@stcatz.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01491692337

Dr Cécile Girardin

Dr Cécile Girardin

Post Doctoral Researcher and James Martin Fellow, ECI
cecile.girardin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Richard Grenyer

Dr Richard Grenyer

Associate Professor in Biodiversity and Biogeography
richard.grenyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275991

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Departmental Lecturer and Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr Marc Macias-Fauria

Dr Marc Macias-Fauria

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
marc.maciasfauria@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275879

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

 Andrew Martin

Andrew Martin

Research Assistant in Arctic Ecology
andrew.martin@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Constance McDermott

Dr Constance McDermott

Associate Professor and Jackson Senior Research Fellow in Land Use and Environmental Change, ECI
constance.mcdermott@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275870

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

Dr Mari Mulyani

Dr Mari Mulyani

MSc Teaching Associate
mari.mulyani@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Imma Oliveras

Dr Imma Oliveras

Departmental Research Lecturer in Ecosystems Science and Deputy Programme Leader on Ecosystems, ECI
imma.oliveras@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 285526

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Post Doctoral Researcher, ECI
alexander.shenkin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Nicola Stevens

Dr Nicola Stevens

Trapnell Research Fellow in African Environments
nicola.stevens@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Chloë Strevens

Dr Chloë Strevens

Departmental Lecturer and Course Director, MSc/MPhil in Biodiversity, Conservation and Management
chloe.montes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275896

 Eleanor Thomson

Eleanor Thomson

PDRA in Remote Sensing of Ecology
eleanor.thomson@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Lisa Wedding

Dr Lisa Wedding

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
lisa.wedding@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275894

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor of Biogeography
robert.whittaker@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275845

Dr Bettina Wittneben

Dr Bettina Wittneben

MSc Teaching Associate, ECI
bettina.wittneben@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Rosalie Wright

Rosalie Wright

Research Assistant in the Coral Reef Resilience Project
rosalie.wright@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Michael 't Sas-Rolfes

Conflicting framings in global conservation governance: Consequences for African megafauna

Tim Baxter

Biodiversity and bioprotection of historic maritime structures: a possible win-win?

Iqbal Singh Bhalla

The distribution and ecosystem services of insectivorous bats in Indian rice plantations

Konstantin Born

Nature-based technologies for the mining sector

Andrea Byfuglien

A behavioural perspective on decisions around land use: on social influence, risk, and collective action

Changsoon Choi

Climate-smart green infrastructure

Tina Christmann

Remote sensing to assess ecosystem change and restoration in tropical mountain ecosystems

Sergio Henrique Collaço de Carvalho

Protected Area Financing in Megadiverse Upper-Middle Income Countries

Cheli Cresswell

Using big data and citizen science to map geographic and temporal trends in human-elephant conflict in Asia

Maria Dance

The influence of Holocene sea-ice variability on Arctic biota: using the past to predict the future

Trisha Gopalakrishna

Forest Restoration in India: Opportunities and Realities

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Robyn Haggis

Nature-based solutions to sustainable infrastructure development for the achievement of the global agendas of the SDGs and Paris Agreement

Abdul Wahid Khan

The Blessings of the Commons (Muzhayo) for the Local Community and More-than-Humans of Chitral, Pakistan and the Influence of Neoliberal and Nationalization Projects: An Apocalypse of a Culturalscape

Victoria Maguire-Rajpaul

Understanding West African cocoa smallholders' adaption to drought: assessing interactions between institutions, poverty and resilience

Diana Mastracci

How can information communication technology (ICT) assist Inupiaq hunters to respond/adapt to rapid climate change? Barrow, Alaska a case study

Anca Mihalache

Time-varying electricity tariffs policy design: an integrated approach

Pirta Palola

Towards integrated land-sea management: mapping and modelling ecological connectivity in tropical coastal environments

Laura Picot

Food crops and the role of farmers' gender and intersectional identities in shaping climate resilience in Ghana

Kenta Sayama

From datapoints to heritage recognition -establishing geoheritage and geocultural values of Quaternary palaeoenvironmental sites in South-east Arabia

Carlota Segura Garcia

Characterising the fire regimes of the Brazilian savannas under large-scale land-use expansion and climate change

Marcus Spiegel

Influence of reindeer herbivory on carbon cycle dynamics in a changing climate on the Yamal Peninsula, West Siberia, Russia

Charles Wight

Scarcity and Scale: Designing Water Markets for People and the Environment

Huanyuan Zhang

Calculate tropical NPP by upscaling empirical findings from plot-level forest inventory to a larger scale
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Percival Cho

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Professor Sandra Díaz

Visiting Professor, ECI

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.