Staff Members

 Jane Applegarth

Jane Applegarth

Administrative Assistant to the Ecosystems Programme and Deputy Director of ECI / Co-ordinator for Oxford Centre for Tropical Forests, ECI
jane.applegarth@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285190

Dr Erika Berenguer

Dr Erika Berenguer

Researcher, ECI
erika.berenguer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Pam Berry

Dr Pam Berry

Senior Research Fellow and Geography Fellow (Mansfield College), ECI
pam.berry@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275882

Dr Robert Dunford

Dr Robert Dunford

College Lecturer, ECI
robert.dunford@stcatz.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01491692337

Dr Cécile Girardin

Dr Cécile Girardin

Post Doctoral Researcher and James Martin Fellow, ECI
cecile.girardin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Richard Grenyer

Dr Richard Grenyer

Associate Professor in Biodiversity and Biogeography
richard.grenyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275991

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Departmental Lecturer and Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr Marc Macias-Fauria

Dr Marc Macias-Fauria

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
marc.maciasfauria@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275879

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

 Andrew Martin

Andrew Martin

Research Assistant in Arctic Ecology
andrew.martin@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Constance McDermott

Dr Constance McDermott

Associate Professor and Jackson Senior Research Fellow in Land Use and Environmental Change, ECI
constance.mcdermott@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275870

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Research Fellow in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

Dr Chloë Montes Strevens

Dr Chloë Montes Strevens

Departmental Lecturer and Course Director, MSc/MPhil in Biodiversity, Conservation and Management
chloe.montes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275896

Dr Mari Mulyani

Dr Mari Mulyani

MSc Teaching Associate
mari.mulyani@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Imma Oliveras

Dr Imma Oliveras

Departmental Research Lecturer in Ecosystems Science and Deputy Programme Leader on Ecosystems, ECI
imma.oliveras@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 285526

 Emily Read

Emily Read

Project Assistant to the Ecosystems Programme, ECI
emily.read@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285190

Dr Terhi Riutta

Dr Terhi Riutta

Post Doctoral Researcher in Ecosystems, ECI
terhi.riutta@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Post Doctoral Researcher, ECI
alexander.shenkin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Lisa Wedding

Dr Lisa Wedding

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
lisa.wedding@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275894

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor of Biogeography
robert.whittaker@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275845

Dr Bettina Wittneben

Dr Bettina Wittneben

MSc Teaching Associate, ECI
bettina.wittneben@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Rosalie Wright

Rosalie Wright

Research Assistant in the Coral Reef Resilience Project
rosalie.wright@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team
  • Professor Yadvinder Malhi
     Cluster Co-ordinator
  • Position vacant
     Postdoctoral Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postgraduate Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postgraduate Representative

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Michael 't Sas-Rolfes

Conserving Africa's rhinos and elephants: geography, economics and policy

Tim Baxter

Biodiversity and bioprotection of historic maritime structures: a possible win-win?

Iqbal Singh Bhalla

The distribution and ecosystem services of insectivorous bats in Indian rice plantations

Changsoon Choi

Climate-smart green infrastructure

Tina Christmann

Remote sensing to assess ecosystem change and restoration in tropical mountain ecosystems

Sergio Henrique Collaço de Carvalho

Protected Area Financing in Megadiverse Upper-Middle Income Countries

Cheli Cresswell

Using big data and citizen science to map geographic and temporal trends in human-elephant conflict in Asia

Maria Dance

The influence of Holocene sea-ice variability on Arctic biota: using the past to predict the future

Adam Formica

Identifying robust policies against deforestation using agent-based modeling

Trisha Gopalakrishna

Trade-offs between carbon, biodiversity and water on restoration of Indian tropical forests

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Logan Hamilton

Transfer of Status: Political Decentralisation as a Driver of Change in Indonesian Village Level Forest Governance

Nicola Kühn

Vegetation response to climate change in South Africa: a functional traits-based approach

Victoria Maguire-Rajpaul

Understanding West African cocoa smallholders' adaption to drought: assessing interactions between institutions, poverty and resilience

Diana Mastracci

How can information communication technology (ICT) assist Inupiaq hunters to respond/adapt to rapid climate change? Barrow, Alaska a case study

Alejandra Mora Soto

Modelling kelp forest distribution in the Magellanic Province, Subantarctic South America

Laura Picot

Food crops and the role of farmers' gender and intersectional identities in shaping climate resilience in Ghana

Bernard Soubry

Climate Resilience on Maritime Farms: Exploring adaptation options for small-scale agriculture and food systems in Eastern Canada

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Charles Wight

Scarcity and Scale: Designing Water Markets for People and the Environment

Victoria Wyllie de Echeverria

Linking interactions between cultural and biological diversity on the Pacific coast of North America in the face of climate change

Huanyuan Zhang

Calculate tropical NPP by upscaling empirical findings from plot-level forest inventory to a larger scale
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Sam Bickersteth

Honorary Research Associate, SSEE

Professor Sandra Díaz

Visiting Professor, ECI

Guy Duke

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Sen Li

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Charles Tebbutt

Short-term Research Associate, ECI

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.