Staff Members

Dr Jesus Aguirre Gutierrez

Dr Jesus Aguirre Gutierrez

NERC Research Fellow, ECI
jesus.aguirregutierrez@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Jane Applegarth

Jane Applegarth

Administrative Assistant to the Ecosystems Programme and Director of ECI / Co-ordinator for Oxford Centre for Tropical Forests, ECI
jane.applegarth@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285190

Dr Erika Berenguer

Dr Erika Berenguer

Researcher, ECI
erika.berenguer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Pam Berry

Dr Pam Berry

Emeritus Research Fellow, ECI
pam.berry@eci.ox.ac.uk

Dr Robert Dunford

Dr Robert Dunford

College Lecturer, ECI
robert.dunford@stcatz.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01491692337

Dr Richard Grenyer

Dr Richard Grenyer

Associate Professor in Biodiversity and Biogeography
richard.grenyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275991

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Senior Researcher, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Professor Marc Macias-Fauria

Professor Marc Macias-Fauria

Professor of Biogeosciences
marc.maciasfauria@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275879

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

 Andrew Martin

Andrew Martin

Research Assistant in Arctic Ecology
andrew.martin@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Constance McDermott

Dr Constance McDermott

Associate Professor and Jackson Senior Research Fellow in Land Use and Environmental Change, ECI
constance.mcdermott@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275870

Dr Jasper Montana

Dr Jasper Montana

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
jasper.montana@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 214930

Dr David Moreno-Mateos

Dr David Moreno-Mateos

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
david.morenomateos@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mari Mulyani

Dr Mari Mulyani

MSc Teaching Associate
mari.mulyani@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Imma Oliveras

Dr Imma Oliveras

Senior Researcher in Disturbance Ecology and Global Change, ECI
imma.oliveras@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: 01865 285526

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Nicola Stevens

Dr Nicola Stevens

Trapnell Research Fellow in African Environments
nicola.stevens@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Chloë Strevens

Dr Chloë Strevens

Departmental Lecturer and Course Director, MSc/MPhil in Biodiversity, Conservation and Management
chloe.montes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275896

Dr Eleanor Thomson

Dr Eleanor Thomson

PDRA in Remote Sensing of Ecology
eleanor.thomson@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Lisa Wedding

Dr Lisa Wedding

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
lisa.wedding@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275894

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor of Biogeography
robert.whittaker@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275845

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Researcher and Departmental Lecturer
katrin.wilhelm@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Bettina Wittneben

Dr Bettina Wittneben

MSc Teaching Associate, ECI
bettina.wittneben@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Michael 't Sas-Rolfes

Conflicting framings in global conservation governance: Consequences for African megafauna

Konstantin Born

Circular economy and eco-innovation in the mining sector

Andrea Byfuglien

A behavioural perspective on decisions around land use: on social influence, risk, and collective action

Changsoon Choi

Climate-smart green infrastructure

Tina Christmann

Remote sensing to assess ecosystem change and restoration in tropical mountain ecosystems

Cheli Cresswell

Using big data and citizen science to map geographic and temporal trends in human-elephant conflict in Asia

Maria Dance

The influence of Holocene sea-ice variability on Arctic biota: using the past to predict the future

Trisha Gopalakrishna

Forest Restoration in India: Opportunities and Realities

Robyn Haggis

Nature-based solutions to sustainable infrastructure development for the achievement of the global agendas of the SDGs and Paris Agreement

Abdul Wahid Khan

The Blessings of the Commons (Muzhayo) for the Local Community and More-than-Humans of Chitral, Pakistan and the Influence of Neoliberal and Nationalization Projects: An Apocalypse of a Culturalscape

Victoria Maguire-Rajpaul

Understanding West African cocoa smallholders' adaption to drought: assessing interactions between institutions, poverty and resilience

Anca Mihalache

Time-varying electricity tariffs policy design: an integrated approach

Pirta Palola

Towards integrated land-sea management: mapping and modelling ecological connectivity in tropical coastal environments

Laura Picot

Food crops and the role of farmers' gender and intersectional identities in shaping climate resilience in Ghana

Kenta Sayama

From datapoints to heritage recognition -establishing geoheritage and geocultural values of Quaternary palaeoenvironmental sites in South-east Arabia

Carlota Segura Garcia

Characterising the fire regimes of the Brazilian savannas under large-scale land-use expansion and climate change

Pisca Tias

Empirical assessment of the interlinkages between forest ecosystem provisioning services and rural community resilience and adaptation to climate change

Charles Wight

Scarcity and Scale: Designing Water Markets for People and the Environment

Huanyuan Zhang

Calculate tropical NPP by upscaling empirical findings from plot-level forest inventory to a larger scale
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Rosalie Wright

Short-term Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.