Staff Members

 Nathan Clay

Nathan Clay

Research Affiliate
nathan.clay@zoo.ox.ac.uk

Dr Brendan Doody

Dr Brendan Doody

Research Associate in Urban Mobility, TSU
brendan.doody@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marion Ernwein

Dr Marion Ernwein

Departmental Lecturer in Human Geography
marion.ernwein@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Beth Greenhough

Dr Beth Greenhough

Associate Professor in Human Geography
beth.greenhough@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614924

Dr Debbie Hopkins

Dr Debbie Hopkins

Department Research Lecturer in Transport Studies, TSU
debbie.hopkins@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275869

Dr Thomas Jellis

Dr Thomas Jellis

British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow
thomas.jellis@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275994

Dr Peter Wynn Kirby

Dr Peter Wynn Kirby

Research Fellow
peter.kirby@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Catharina Landström

Dr Catharina Landström

Researcher
catharina.landstrom@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614960

Dr Jamie Lorimer

Dr Jamie Lorimer

Associate Professor in Human Geography
jamie.lorimer@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275841

Professor Derek McCormack

Professor Derek McCormack

Professor of Cultural Geography
derek.mccormack@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275988

Dr Reuben Message

Dr Reuben Message

Researcher
reuben.message@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jennie Middleton

Dr Jennie Middleton

Senior Research Fellow in Mobilities and Human Geography, TSU
jennie.middleton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275893

Dr Denver Nixon

Dr Denver Nixon

Research Associate in Transport and Mobilities, TSU
denver.nixon@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Alexandra Palmer

Alexandra Palmer

Research Associate in the Social Science of Animal Research
alexandra.palmer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Gillian Rose

Professor Gillian Rose

Professor of Human Geography
gillian.rose@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285198

 Tom Russell

Tom Russell

Software Technician, ECI
tom.russell@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Tim Schwanen

Dr Tim Schwanen

Director of the Transport Studies Unit | Associate Professor in Transport Studies and Human Geography
tsudirector@tsu.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285503

 Alexandra Sexton

Alexandra Sexton

Research Affiliate
alexandra.sexton@zoo.ox.ac.uk

Professor Sarah Whatmore

Professor Sarah Whatmore

Professor of Environment and Public Policy
sarah.whatmore@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285198

Cluster Co-ordinating Team
  • Professor Derek McCormack
     Cluster Co-ordinator
  • Dr Marion Ernwein
     Cluster Co-ordinator
  • Position vacant
     Postdoctoral Representative
  • Nina Doering
     Postgraduate Representative
  • Helge Peters
     Postgraduate Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postgraduate Representative

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Michael 't Sas-Rolfes

Conserving Africa's rhinos and elephants: geography, economics and policy

Paola Castaneda

How is the bike made mobile? Learning from bicycle advocacy in Latin America

Eric (Tak Hin) Chan

The role of built environment and travel behaviour in influencing people's well-being - A case study of Shenzhen

Sergio Henrique Collaço de Carvalho

Protected Area Financing in Megadiverse Upper-Middle Income Countries

Cheli Cresswell

Using big data and citizen science to map geographic and temporal trends in human-elephant conflict in Asia

Jennifer Dodsworth

Locating the Rural Community in Nature and the Nation: Exploring spatial politics of national parks and national identities

Andrew Dwyer

Malware Ecologies: Disrupting the Geographies of Cyberspace and Cybersecurity

Joshua Evans

Endless Convivial Experiments: Domestication and the microbiogeography of hybrid fermentation practices

Yujie Gan

Tackling the Chinese Pension System: demographic transition, pension investment, and the financial regulation

Wenbo Guo

Mobility, subjective well-being and health in transitional China: towards socially sustainable cities

Dong-Li Hong

The praxis and politics of technological optimism in the Anthropocene

Luis Iturra

Exploring urban inequality through unveiling uneven atmospheres in everyday mobility practices

Narendra Killada

Environmental publics in the Indian case: situated interpretations of nature and democracy in addressing resource conflicts

Toru Kubo

Technology innovation and policy instruments to advance low-carbon transport in developing Asian economies

Kris Lee

Understanding 'Reversed-Flow' international student mobility: a Bourdieusian perspective

Peter Martin

International networks and cosmopolitan science: Geographical Societies and Greenland, c. 1880 to 1939

Kelsi Nagy

India's sacred and mundane cattle: gods, hybrid-beasts and scavengers

Cyrus Nayeri

Governing the ungovernable: investigating the geopolitics of volcano hazard management on Iceland's South Coast

Kiron Neale

Beyond Implementation: Mainstreaming Residential Solar Energy in Trinidad

Rafael Pereira

Justice issues in transport policies

Helge Peters

Configuring socio-environmental complexity: an ethnography of agent-based modelling

Rhian Scott

The contemporary warehouse studio: an extension of artist and urban landscape

Matthew Shepherd

Geothermal Urbanism: Making the elemental explicit in Reykjavík

Filipa Soares

Contesting the wild: nature, rewilding, conservationists and local communities in a changing Europe

Nina Teng

Examining Trust in Shared Mobility: The Case of On-Demand Peer-to-Peer Ridesharing in Southeast Asia
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Karen Anderton

Short-term Research Associate, TSU

Dr Geoffrey Dudley

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Dr Kärg Kama

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Richard Powell

Honorary Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.