Staff Members

Dr Joshua Allin

Dr Joshua Allin

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant
joshua.allin@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Richard Bailey

Dr Richard Bailey

Associate Professor in Geochronology
richard.bailey@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285530

Dr Szilvia Bajkan

Dr Szilvia Bajkan

Luminescence Laboratory Technician
szilvia.bajkan@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285085

Professor John Boardman

Professor John Boardman

Emeritus Professor, ECI
john.boardman@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285183

Dr Peter Bull

Dr Peter Bull

Emeritus Research Fellow
peter.bull@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275840

Dr Sallie Burrough

Dr Sallie Burrough

Trapnell Research Fellow in African Environments, ECI
sallie.burrough@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285086

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Dr Ernesto Carrella

Researcher
ernesto.carrella@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Martin Coombes

Dr Martin Coombes

Departmental Lecturer in Physical Geography
martin.coombes@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275884

Dr Simon Dadson

Dr Simon Dadson

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Julie Durcan

Dr Julie Durcan

College Lecturer
julie.durcan@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mona Edwards

Dr Mona Edwards

Laboratory Manager
mona.edwards@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275889

Dr Julie Eklund

Dr Julie Eklund

SEAHA Administrator
julie.eklund@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Lucie Fusade

Lucie Fusade

Research Assistant
lucie.fusade@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Andrew Goudie

Professor Andrew Goudie

Emeritus Professor in Geography
andrew.goudie@geog.ox.ac.uk

Dr Feyera Hirpa

Dr Feyera Hirpa

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Hydrology and Climate
feyera.hirpa@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jens Madsen

Dr Jens Madsen

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
jens.madsen@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Nick Middleton

Dr Nick Middleton

Fellow of St Anne's College
nicholas.middleton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285186

 Ciaran Nash

Ciaran Nash

Early Stage Researcher
ciaran.nash@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sigrid Staurset

Dr Sigrid Staurset

Researcher
sigrid.staurset@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Abi Stone

Dr Abi Stone

MSc Teaching Staff
abi.stone@gmail.com

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Professor Heather Viles

Professor Heather Viles

Head of School and Professor of Biogeomorphology and Heritage Conservation
heather.viles@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285071 (PA: Jan Burke)

Professor Richard Washington

Professor Richard Washington

Professor of Climate Science
richard.washington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275842

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor Giles Wiggs

Professor of Aeolian Geomorphology
giles.wiggs@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275998

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Dr Katrin Wilhelm

Researcher
katrin.wilhelm@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Catherine Buckland

Determining dryland landscape sensitivity to natural and human disturbances using Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) techniques, Nebraska Sandhills

Kaja Fenn

Provenance of late Quaternary loess along the middle and lower Danube River, Europe

Lucie Fusade

Mitigating driving rain to historic buildings: the use of additives in lime-based pointing mortar

Franziska Gaupp

The global impact of droughts on agricultural production

Blen Taye Gemeda

Understanding the impact of moisture on the degradation of porous and clay-bearing, monolithic stone structures: Lalibela, Ethiopia

Katherine Jang

'Moss on Rocks': Evaluating biodeterioration and bioprotection of bryophitic growth on stone masonry

Michelle Lanzoni

Desert rain events: soil moisture and nutrient cycling around dryland plants

Cuthbert Makondo

Options in Climate Change Adaptation, Resilience and Mitigation: Evidence from Zambia’s Rural-Rural Migration

Jerome Mayaud

Development and testing of a coupled vegetation / sediment-transport model for dryland environments

Martin Michette

Reigate Stone at the Tower of London: Mitigating Problem Stone decay in urban environments

Callum Munday

Representation of southern African climate in coupled models

Ciaran Nash

Sand mitigation along railway tracks - evaluation of sand hazards and field testing of mitigation measures

Sarah O'Keefe

Climate Scenarios for Water Security in Developing Regions

Scott Allan Orr

'Wet walls': developing 4D moisture monitoring techniques for stone masonry

Homero Paltan Lopez

Sensitivity of freshwater to climate variability

Jennifer Richards

Learning from nature: evaluating site-based conservation approaches to mitigating climatic risks to earthen heritage sites in NW China

Aayush Srivastava

Quaternary of the Thar Desert in India: understanding the history of dune accumulation with the aid of Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) dating

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Yinghong Wang

Evaluating the role of sandstone treatments

Noreen Zaman

The role of soil as a method for conserving cultural stone ruins: effects of physical and chemical characteristics on stone weathering
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Ian Ashpole

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Beril Bicer-Simsir

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Gianbattista Bussi

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Paula Carmona-Quiroga

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Matthew Cupper

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Julie Desarnaud

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Shuaishuai He

Honorary Research Associate

Professor David E. Smith

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Vanessa Winchester

Honorary Research Associate

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.