Staff Members

Professor Myles Allen

Professor Myles Allen

Professor of Geosystem Science
myles.allen@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275895

Dr Liana Anderson

Dr Liana Anderson

Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Land Cover Dynamics and Carbon Emissions, ECI
liana.anderson@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Erika Berenguer

Dr Erika Berenguer

Researcher, ECI
erika.berenguer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Pam Berry

Dr Pam Berry

Senior Research Fellow and Geography Fellow (Mansfield College), ECI
pam.berry@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275882

Dr Brenda Boardman

Dr Brenda Boardman

Emeritus Research Fellow, ECI
brenda.boardman@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275876

Professor David Bradley

Professor David Bradley

MSc Teaching Staff
david.bradley@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr Christian Brand

Dr Christian Brand

Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor, ECI, TSU
christian.brand@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285527

Dr Simon Dadson

Dr Simon Dadson

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
simon.dadson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275866

Dr Sarah Darby

Dr Sarah Darby

Associate Professor, ECI
sarah.darby@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285163

 Marina Diakonova

Marina Diakonova

Data Scientist In Energy Research, ECI
marina.diakonova@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614928

 Clare Downing

Clare Downing

Climate Adaptation Science Officer (UKCIP), ECI
clare.downing@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285166

 Ellen Dyer

Ellen Dyer

Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate Science
ellen.dyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Dr Sebastian Engelstaedter

Researcher
sebastian.engelstaedter@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275867

Professor Nick Eyre

Professor Nick Eyre

Jackson Senior Research Fellow and Professor of Energy and Climate Policy, ECI
nick.eyre@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285129

Dr Tina Fawcett

Dr Tina Fawcett

Senior Researcher and Acting Deputy Leader, ECI Energy Programme, ECI
tina.fawcett@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285173

 Stephanie Ferguson

Stephanie Ferguson

Designer and Editor (UKCIP), ECI
stephanie.ferguson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285711

Dr Helen Gavin

Dr Helen Gavin

Project Manager: MARIUS project, ECI
helen.gavin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614941

Dr Michael Gilmont

Dr Michael Gilmont

Researcher, ECI
michael.gilmont@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Jim Hall

Professor Jim Hall

Director of the Environmental Change Institute | Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks
director@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44(0)1865 275847 (PA: Sue King)

Dr Neil Hart

Dr Neil Hart

Postdoctoral Research Assistant in African Climate Science
neil.hart@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Karsten Haustein

Dr Karsten Haustein

Researcher, ECI
karsten.haustein@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285193

Dr Ariella Helfgott

Dr Ariella Helfgott

Senior Researcher, TRANSMANGO, ECI
ariella.helfgott@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614917

Dr Sarah Higginson

Dr Sarah Higginson

Researcher-RealValue, ECI
sarah.higginson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285039

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Environmental Social Science Research Fellow, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr John Ingram

Dr John Ingram

Associate Professor and Food Systems Programme Leader, ECI
john.ingram@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285175

Dr Rachel James

Dr Rachel James

ECI Research Fellow: Climate Modelling for Climate Services, ECI
rachel.james@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275897

Dr Kathryn Janda

Dr Kathryn Janda

Senior Researcher, ECI
katy.janda@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285544

Dr Chris Jardine

Dr Chris Jardine

Researcher, ECI
christian.jardine@eci.ox.ac.uk

Dr Katie Jenkins

Dr Katie Jenkins

Researcher, ECI
katie.jenkins@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275861

 Kay Jenkinson

Kay Jenkinson

Communications Officer, ECI
kay.jenkinson@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr David Johnstone

Dr David Johnstone

MSc Teaching Staff
davidwmj@gmail.com

Dr Russell Layberry

Dr Russell Layberry

Senior Researcher, ECI
russell.layberry@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285172

Professor Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith

Professor Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith

Director of Energy Research, University of Oxford, ECI

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

Dr Richard Millar

Dr Richard Millar

Postdoctoral Research Assistant, ECI
richard.millar@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mohammad Mortazavi-Naeini

Dr Mohammad Mortazavi-Naeini

Researcher, ECI
mohammad.mortazavi-naeini@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor Benito Müller

Professor Benito Müller

Convener International Climate Policy Research, ECI, ECI
benito.mueller@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

 Maliha Muzammil

Maliha Muzammil

Researcher, CCAFS, ECI
maliha.muzammil@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Friederike Otto

Dr Friederike Otto

Deputy Director, ECI
friederike.otto@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285536

Dr Raghav Pant

Dr Raghav Pant

Researcher, ECI
raghav.pant@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275853

Dr Stefanie Reiss (née Niekamp)

Dr Stefanie Reiss (née Niekamp)

Researcher in the RealValue Project, ECI
stefanie.reiss@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285167

Dr Sami Rifai

Dr Sami Rifai

Research Associate in Ecosystems Modelling and Climate Data, ECI
sami.rifai@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Post Doctoral Researcher, ECI
alexander.shenkin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

 Phil Sivell

Phil Sivell

ARCC Network Science Officer, ECI
philip.sivell@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Roger Street

Roger Street

Senior Research Fellow (UKCIP), ECI
roger.street@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285713

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor David S.G. Thomas

Professor of Geography
david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275844

Dr Tom Thornton

Dr Tom Thornton

Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management
Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor, ECI
thomas.thornton@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Dr Marina Topouzi

Dr Marina Topouzi

Researcher in Lower Carbon Futures, ECI
marina.topouzi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614944

Dr Pete Walton

Dr Pete Walton

Knowledge Exchange Research Fellow, ECI
peter.walton@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 272342

Professor Richard Washington

Professor Richard Washington

Professor of Climate Science
richard.washington@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275842

Professor Paul Whitehead

Professor Paul Whitehead

Visiting Professor
paul.whitehead@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Conrad Zorn

Conrad Zorn

Infrastructure Network Analyst, ECI
conrad.zorn@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Cluster Co-ordinating Team

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Daniel Adshead

Water security and poverty: interactions and tipping points, assessing linkages between water risks and economic growth with a focus on coastal areas of Bangladesh

Festus Asaaga

Smallholder agriculture and ecosystem degradation in rural Africa: empirical analysis of farmers' land use decisions

Meghan Bailey

Robust adaptation planning and decision-making: a comparative study of subsistence-oriented communities in the Indo-Gangetic Plain and West Africa

Aoife Bennett

The political ecology of oil palm, people and forest conservation: searching for a balanced approach to development in the Peruvian Amazon

Laura Brinker

Energy decisions and governance: implications of retail market design for decentralized energy resources

Iliana Cardenes Trujillo

Saving energy and saving water: a comparative study in policy and regulation

Anabelle Cardoso

What controls vegetation dynamics in a Central African forest-savanna mosaic: fire or mega-fauna?

Robert Carlsson

Understanding the economic role of national infrastructure systems

Claudia Comberti

Adaptation to environmental change in Amazonian Indigenous communities: the role of human-ecosystem interactions in supporting positive change

Amy Creese

Constraints on rainfall and convection in numerical models: a case study of the Congo Basin

Franziska Gaupp

The global impact of droughts on agricultural production

Gonzalo Griebenow

Land use, forest elephants and REDD+. A case study in Bia and Kakum Conservation Areas

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Agne Gvozdevaite

Functional diversity of tropical rainforests and their sensitivity to environmental change

Logan Hamilton

Political decentralisation as a driver of change in Indonesian village level forest governance institutions and practices

Samuel Hampton

Understanding energy demand: energy using practices and energy services

Dina Hestad

Transformational capacity: investigating organisations ability to foster social transformation towards sustainability

Xi (Sisi) Hu

China's evolving vulnerability to climate change impacts: a spatial analysis of its infrastructure system

Jiashun Huang

Infrastructure and the Economy

Takeshi Inagawa

Nutrient dynamics of Bornean tropical forests

Toby Jackson

Wind damage and the mechanical strength of trees. Why are trees in Borneo so tall?

Ashley Kingsborough

Climate change risk assessment, Decision making and the development of adaptation pathways

Jae-Young Lee

The role of water quality in regional water resources assessment

Jade Leung

A transferable national infrastructure planning and assessment methodolgy

Xiawei Liao

Identifying and understanding changes in water-energy linkage for China

Yingqi Liu

Residential Demand Response (DR) in the UK: the potential in low carbon energy transformation, social implication and interaction with energy efficiency

Scott MacDonald

An international comparison of voluntary green electricity tariffs

Cuthbert Makondo

Options in Climate Change Adaptation, Resilience and Mitigation: Evidence from Zambia’s Rural-Rural Migration

Nadezhda Mamontova

Spatial Knowledge, Language, and Adaptation to the Landscape among the Ewenki of Central and Northeastern Siberia

Christine Moore

Understanding social-ecological resilience in a cocoa producing region: a study of Ghana's Kakum Region

Callum Munday

Representation of southern African climate in coupled models

Kiron Neale

Beyond implementation: mainstreaming solar energy into Trinidad's residential sector

Sarah O'Keefe

Climate Scenarios for Water Security in Developing Regions

Homero Paltan Lopez

Sensitivity of freshwater to climate variability

Brice Perombelon

Geopolitical Arctic(s). Indigenous representations of geo-power: the case of the Sahtu Denes

Nicolas Raab

Modelling tree carbon allocation, gas and energy exchange in the Amazon through functional structural models

Jose Ramirez Mendiola

The pathway to a sustainable energy infrastructure system

Ruksana Rimi

Climate change and high-impact weather events: implications for water resource and agriculture in Bangladesh

June Rubis

(Re)imagining forest conservation landscapes and development pathways: indigenous strategies in Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo

Ranu Sinha

Pathways to Water Security: Evaluating the impacts of irrigation investments in Madhya Pradesh, India

Aayush Srivastava

Quaternary of the Thar Desert in India: understanding the history of dune accumulation with the aid of Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) dating

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Kevin Wheeler

Cooperation or conflict in trans-boundary rivers with the emergence of climate variability: a case study of the Nile River

Victoria Wyllie de Echeverria

Linking interactions between cultural and biological diversity on the Pacific coast of North America in the face of climate change
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Dr Ian Ashpole

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Emily Barbour

Short-term Research Associate, ECI

Dr David Bonilla

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Sebastian Cody

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Martha Crockatt

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Professor Sandra Diaz

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Dave Favis-Mortlock

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Nikolaos Fyllas

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Benoit Guillod

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Alan Jones

College Lecturer and Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Wee Ho Lim

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Danae Maniatis

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Philip Mann

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Ruth Mayne

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Sam Moore

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Mike Morecroft

Honorary Research Associate

Dr John Rhys

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Norma Salinas Revilla

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Gordon Stokes

Honorary Research Associate, TSU

Dr Joost Vervoort

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Katja Yafimava

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.