Staff Members

Dr Liana Anderson

Dr Liana Anderson

Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Land Cover Dynamics and Carbon Emissions, ECI
liana.anderson@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Jane Applegarth

Jane Applegarth

Administrative Assistant to the Ecosystems Programme and Deputy Director of ECI /Co-ordinator for Oxford Centre for Tropical Forests, ECI
jane.applegarth@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285190

Dr Erika Berenguer

Dr Erika Berenguer

Researcher, ECI
erika.berenguer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Pam Berry

Dr Pam Berry

Senior Research Fellow and Geography Fellow (Mansfield College), ECI
pam.berry@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275882

Dr Benjamin Blonder

Dr Benjamin Blonder

NERC Independent Research Fellow, ECI
benjamin.blonder@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Robert Dunford

Dr Robert Dunford

Senior Research Fellow, ECI
robert.dunford@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285183

Dr Cécile Girardin

Dr Cécile Girardin

Post Doctoral Researcher and James Martin Fellow, ECI
cecile.girardin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Richard Grenyer

Dr Richard Grenyer

Associate Professor in Biodiversity and Biogeography
richard.grenyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275991

Dr Ariella Helfgott

Dr Ariella Helfgott

Senior Researcher, TRANSMANGO, ECI
ariella.helfgott@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 614917

Dr Mark Hirons

Dr Mark Hirons

Environmental Social Science Research Fellow, ECI
mark.hirons@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Paul Jepson

Dr Paul Jepson

Course Director, MSc/MPhil in Biodiversity, Conservation and Management
paul.jepson@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275896

 Miguel Jodra

Miguel Jodra

Laboratory Technician, ECI
miguel.jodra@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Marc Macias-Fauria

Dr Marc Macias-Fauria

Associate Professor in Physical Geography
marc.maciasfauria@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275879

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor Yadvinder Malhi

Professor of Ecosystem Science
yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285188

Dr Diana Mangalagiu

Dr Diana Mangalagiu

Researcher, ECI
diana.mangalagiu@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Constance McDermott

Dr Constance McDermott

Senior Fellow in Forest Governance and Leader of Ecosystems Governance Group, ECI
constance.mcdermott@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275870

Dr Richard Millar

Dr Richard Millar

Postdoctoral Research Assistant, ECI
richard.millar@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alexandra Morel

Dr Alexandra Morel

Post Doctoral Researcher, ECI
alexandra.morel@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Mari Mulyani

Dr Mari Mulyani

MSc Teaching Associate
mari.mulyani@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Imma Oliveras

Dr Imma Oliveras

Departmental Research Lecturer in Ecosystems Science and Deputy Programme Leader on Ecosystems, ECI
imma.oliveras@ouce.ox.ac.uk

 Emily Read

Emily Read

Project Assistant to the Ecosystems Programme, ECI, ECI
emily.read@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285190

Dr Sami Rifai

Dr Sami Rifai

Research Associate in Ecosystems Modelling and Climate Data, ECI
sami.rifai@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Terhi Riutta

Dr Terhi Riutta

Post Doctoral Researcher in Ecosystems, ECI
terhi.riutta@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Dr Alexander Shenkin

Post Doctoral Researcher, ECI
alexander.shenkin@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285171

 Alison Smith

Alison Smith

Researcher, ECI
alison.smith@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 285534

Dr Tom Thornton

Dr Tom Thornton

Director of the MSc/MPhil in Environmental Change and Management
Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor, ECI
thomas.thornton@eci.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275877

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor Robert J. Whittaker

Professor of Biogeography
robert.whittaker@ouce.ox.ac.uk | tel: +44 (0)1865 275845

Dr Bettina Wittneben

Dr Bettina Wittneben

MSc Teaching Staff, ECI
wittneben@drbettina.eu

Cluster Co-ordinating Team
  • Professor Yadvinder Malhi
     Cluster Co-ordinator
  • Position vacant
     Postdoctoral Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postgraduate Representative
  • Position vacant
     Postgraduate Representative

Graduate Research Students

We have a number of graduate research students actively involved in current research:

Michael 't Sas-Rolfes

Conserving Africa's rhinos and elephants: geography, economics and policy

Rodrigo Arce

Certified forest industry diversification in the Bolivian Northern Amazon: escaping the staple trap in the forest carbon era

Festus Asaaga

Smallholder agriculture and ecosystem degradation in rural Africa: empirical analysis of farmers' land use decisions

Meghan Bailey

Robust adaptation planning and decision-making: a comparative study of subsistence-oriented communities in the Indo-Gangetic Plain and West Africa

Aoife Bennett

The political ecology of oil palm, people and forest conservation: searching for a balanced approach to development in the Peruvian Amazon

Anabelle Cardoso

What controls vegetation dynamics in a Central African forest-savanna mosaic: fire or mega-fauna?

Sergio Henrique Collaço de Carvalho

Protected Area Financing in Megadiverse Upper-Middle Income Countries

Claudia Comberti

Adaptation to environmental change in Amazonian Indigenous communities: the role of human-ecosystem interactions in supporting positive change

Cheli Cresswell

Using big data and citizen science to map geographic and temporal trends in human-elephant conflict in Asia

Jennifer Gooden

Investing in nature: the premise and promise of private conservation

Gonzalo Griebenow

Land use, forest elephants and REDD+. A case study in Bia and Kakum Conservation Areas

Carolina Gueiros

Forest Governance in the Brazilian Amazon: Policy Change and Innovation to Curb Deforestation

Agne Gvozdevaite

Functional diversity of tropical rainforests and their sensitivity to environmental change

Logan Hamilton

Political decentralisation as a driver of change in Indonesian village level forest governance institutions and practices

Dina Hestad

Transformational capacity: investigating organisations ability to foster social transformation towards sustainability

Georgia Hole

Towards a first high resolution spatiotemporal reconstruction of Holocene Arctic sea ice dynamics

Anna Hushlak

From virtual space to physical place: mobilising the affordances of communication technologies for biodiversity conservation

Takeshi Inagawa

Nutrient dynamics of Bornean tropical forests

Toby Jackson

Wind damage and the mechanical strength of trees. Why are trees in Borneo so tall?

Nadezhda Mamontova

Spatial Knowledge, Language, and Adaptation to the Landscape among the Ewenki of Central and Northeastern Siberia

Emma McIntosh

Evaluating conservation planning: elucidating the societal and governance factors behind effective conservation prioritisations

John Mittermeier

Cultural value and biodiversity conservation: harnessing the power of 'big data' to quantify the cultural importance of species

Christine Moore

Understanding social-ecological resilience in a cocoa producing region: a study of Ghana's Kakum Region

Emilie Parry

"The New Local": Emerging configurations of cooperative applied learning for climate action within an Asian Interfaith Alliance

Brice Perombelon

Geopolitical Arctic(s). Indigenous representations of geo-power: the case of the Sahtu Denes

Joseph Poore

The global extent of abandoned agricultural land and its conservation potential

Nicolas Raab

Modelling tree carbon allocation, gas and energy exchange in the Amazon through functional structural models

June Rubis

(Re)imagining forest conservation landscapes and development pathways: indigenous strategies in Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo

Bernard Soubry

Climate Resilience on Maritime Farms: Exploring adaptation options for small-scale agriculture and food systems in Eastern Canada

Boipelo Tshwene-Mauchaza

A re-design of Chobe National Park management system to optimise effectiveness under climate change: systems thinking approach

Victoria Wyllie de Echeverria

Linking interactions between cultural and biological diversity on the Pacific coast of North America in the face of climate change
Interested in studying with us?

Please see our International Graduate School for more information and how to apply.

Visiting Research Associates

We also host visiting researchers throughout the year and have a number of associated and affiliated non-resident researchers:

Sam Bickersteth

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Percival Cho

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Ricardo Correia

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Martha Crockatt

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Professor Sandra Diaz

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Nikolaos Fyllas

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Erik Gómez-Baggethun

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Alan Jones

College Lecturer and Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Graham Jones

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Richard Ladle

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Sen Li

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Danae Maniatis

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Thomas Matthews

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Sam Moore

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Mike Morecroft

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Bernardo Peredo

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Uri Roll

Honorary Research Associate

Dr Norma Salinas Revilla

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Jianjun Yu

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Dr Kasia Zieminska

Honorary Research Associate, ECI

Interested in becoming a Visiting Research Associate?

Please see our Policy and Criteria for Visiting Research Associate Status for more information.